Loading Events
Now Playing

Cave of Forgotten Dreams 3D

Thu & Fri, Jun 29 & 30 / 7 pm
Directed by Werner Herzog
2010, France/USA/Germany/Canada, 90 min

Back by popular demand, Director Werner Herzog takes us deep beyond the frontier of an extraordinary place. With specially designed 3D cameras he explores the interior of the Chauvet Cave in Southern France. This is where the world’s oldest known cave paintings were discovered in 1994. In this mesmerizing film he reveals to us a breathtaking subterranean world and leads us to the 32,000 year old artworks.

Reviews

The paintings are extraordinary and the 3-D cinematography invites the viewer to get lost in every brushstroke. This is one of the few films to use the format for intellectual, even philosophical ends: the added depth parallels the deeper understanding of humanity that the paintings inspire.
- Chicago Reader
« Nov 2017 » loading...
M T W T F S S
30
31
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
1
2
3
Sun 19

A Ghost Story

Thu & Fri, Nov 9 & 10 / 9 pm
Sat & Sun, Nov 11 & 12 / 7 pm
Sun, Nov 19 / 3 pm
Sun 19

The Women’s Balcony

Sat & Sun, Nov 18 & 19 / 7 pm
Wed, Nov 22 / 7 pm
Thu, Nov 30 / 9 pm
Sat, Dec 2 / 9 pm
Sun, Dec 3 / 7 pm
Wed & Thu, Dec 6 & 7 / 7 pm
Sat, Dec 9 / 9 pm
Mon 20

Expanded Cinema Performance Lab

Monday 6pm - 10pm | Nov. 20, 27, Dec. 4, Jan. 8, 15, 22
Thu 23

Faces Places (Visages, Villages)

Thu & Fri, Nov 16 & 17 / 9 pm
Sat, Nov 18 / 3 pm
Thu, Nov 23 / 7 pm
Sat & Sun, Nov 25 & 26 / 3 pm

ABOUT US

The Winnipeg Film Group is an artist-run education, production, exhibition and distribution centre committed to promoting the art of cinema.
our location
We’re located across the street from Old Market Square, on the 3rd floor of the Artspace building (just upstairs from our Cinematheque) at 100 Arthur Street at Bannatyne - one block west of Main Contact Us
contact