Loading Events
Now Playing

Comedy Film Fest: COMMERCIALS, KUBASA, BIRDS, BEES AND DATING IN WINNIPEG

Thu, Feb 7 / 9 pm

Three hilarious short films precede a classic feature pastiche of 80s Winnipeg Broadcast Madness. “The Talk”: True Stories About The Birds & The Bees by Alain Delannoy is a visual hilarious treat of things in life you never forget. Other Half Dating Service is Alex Ateah’s ode to 80s dating videos. Mock advertisements yield plenty of laughs in Commercials by Erica Eyres. Kubasa in a Glass is a hilarious pastiche of Winnipeg’s commercial and public access programming throughout the 80s, rescued from the trash by the Atelier National du Manitoba, Matthew Rankin and Walter Forsberg.


The Canadian International Comedy Film Festival in association with the Winnipeg Film Group presents two days of classic & recent WFG films at the Cinematheque. Full program at www.cicff.ca.

« August 2019 » loading...
M T W T F S S
29
30
31
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
1
Mon 19

Optical Printer One on One Workshop Sessions

Appointment Based One on One Session
Mon 19

Shoot Some 16mm Film

Camera Orientation Day: Sat. June 1, 2019 – 10 AM – 2 PM (WFG Black Lodge Studio)

Shooting Days: June 3 – July 13, 2019

Processing Day: Sat. July 13 & Sun. July 14 – 10 AM – 2 PM (WFG Media Lab and Platform Dark Room)

Optical Printer Class: Sat. July 20 | 10am - 2pm

Editing: July – August

Screening Date: TBD
Mon 19

2019 WFG Summer Teen Filmmaking Camp

Session 2: Mon Aug 12 to Fri Aug 23 (10 AM to 3 PM) | WFG Media Lab & WFG Black Lodge
Mon 19

nîpawistamâsowin: We Will Stand Up

ADDITIONAL SCREENINGS ADDED:
Sat & Sun, Aug 3 & 4 / 1 pm
Sat, Aug 17 / 1 pm
Mon, Aug 19 / 7 pm *
Mon, Aug 26 / 7 pm
Tue 20

Restoration Tuesdays: Between the Lines

Tue, Aug 6 / 7 pm
Tue, Aug 13 / 9 pm
Tue, Aug 20 / 7 pm
Tue, Aug 27 / 9 pm

ABOUT US

The Winnipeg Film Group is an artist-run education, production, exhibition and distribution centre committed to promoting the art of cinema.
our location

We’re located in the heart of Winnipeg's historic Exchange District in the Artspace building. We are across the street from Old Market Square at the corner of Arthur Street and Bannatyne - one block west of Main.

The Winnipeg Film Group is located on Treaty 1 Territory and on the ancestral lands of the Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota and Dene Peoples and in the homeland of the Métis Nation. We offer our respect and gratitude to the traditional caretakers of this land.

contact