Loading Events
Now Playing

Canada’s Top Ten: What Walaa Wants

Wed & Thu, Feb 27 & 28 / 7 pm & 9 pm
Directed by Christy Garland
2018, Canada / Denmark, 89 min
Arabic with English subtitles

For eight years, young Walaa was raised in Balata Refugee Camp while her mother was held in an Israeli jail. Now that her mother has been released in a much-publicized prisoner swap, Walaa can finally focus on her lifelong dream: joining the Palestinian Security Forces. What makes this dream difficult to attain is that few women make it into the forces. Will Walaa successfully tackle her demons and manage to craft a meaningful career for herself?


Canada‘s Top Ten Film Festival returns for the 18th year with a diverse and compelling line up of features and shorts. In January and February, we will present the first part of this program. It will be continued later in March to June. This series is generously sponsored by IATSE 856 and William F. White International.

        

Reviews

Over the course of the film Walaa shines as an eloquent and brave young woman, determined to fight for her ideals. It is incredible to watch her grow and evolve, which the film conveys beautifully in contemplative close-ups ....it is refreshing to see a film that portrays such a proud, resilient, young Palestinian woman. You will remember Walaa.
- Amy Siegel, POV
« April 2019 » loading...
M T W T F S S
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
1
2
3
4
5
Mon 22

Optical Printer One on One Workshop Sessions

Appointment Based One on One Session
Mon 22

2019 Spring Basic Filmmaking Class **SOLD OUT**

March 11, 2019 - May 12, 2019 | 7pm - 10pm
Sun 21

Burning (Beoning)

Wed, Apr 17 / 8:30 pm
Fri, Apr 19 / 7 pm
Sat, Apr 20 / 5 pm
Sun, Apr 21 / 7 pm
Wed & Thu, Apr 24 & 25 / 7 pm
Fri, Apr 26 / 9 pm
Sat, Apr 27 / 2 pm & 9 pm
Sun, Apr 28 / 2 pm
Tue 23

Restoration Tuesdays: Rocco and His Brothers

Tue, Apr 2 / 7 pm
Tue, Apr 9 / 7 pm
Tue, Apr 16 / 7 pm
Tue, Apr 23 / 7 pm
Tue, Apr 30 / 7 pm
Fri 26

Canada’s Top Ten: Giant Little Ones

Fri, Apr 26 / 7 pm
Sat & Sun, April 27 & 28 / 5 pm & 7 pm

ABOUT US

The Winnipeg Film Group is an artist-run education, production, exhibition and distribution centre committed to promoting the art of cinema.
our location

We’re located in the heart of Winnipeg's historic Exchange District in the Artspace building. We are across the street from Old Market Square at the corner of Arthur Street and Bannatyne - one block west of Main.

The Winnipeg Film Group is located on Treaty 1 Territory and on the ancestral lands of the Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota and Dene Peoples and in the homeland of the Métis Nation. We offer our respect and gratitude to the traditional caretakers of this land.

contact