Loading Events
Now Playing

Canada’s Top Ten: Unarmed Verses

Sat, Feb 24 / 7 pm
Directed by Charles Officer
2017, Canada, 86 min

Introduced by Q ‘ Mal Labad – Workman 

A thoughtful and vivid portrait of a Toronto low-income housing community facing imposed relocation. At the centre of the story is a remarkably astute and luminous 12-year-old black girl, Francine, whose poignant observations about life, the soul, and the power of art to give voice to those rarely heard in society become a solidifying force in her community. Unarmed Verses is a cinematic rendering of our universal need for self-expression and belonging, and a statement about the strength of community.

Now in its 17th year Canada’s Top Ten Film Festival™ highlights the best features, shorts and student shorts from across the country. The breadth of programming selected by filmmakers, programmers, critics and industry professionals represents the creative strength of the country’s best cinema.

Generously sponsored by IATSE 856 and the Toronto International Film Festival. Presented in partnership with Black Space Winnipeg and the Afro Prairie Film Festival.

              

Reviews

Unarmed Verses is a miracle of a movie – the kind of minor masterpiece that makes clear why documentaries are reaching new heights of popularity. - Thomas Pashko. The Uniter
« December 2019 » loading...
M T W T F S S
25
26
27
28
29
30
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
1
2
3
4
5
Sun 15

Optical Printer One on One Workshop Sessions

Appointment Based One on One Session
Sun 15

Pain & Glory

Thu Dec 5 / 7 pm
Fri, Dec 6 / 9 pm
Sat, Dec 7 / 5 pm & 7:15 pm
Sun, Dec 8 / 7 pm
Wed, Dec 11 / 7 pm
Thu, Dec 12 / 9 pm
Sat, Dec 14 / 7 pm
Sun, Dec 15 / 2 pm
Sun 15

The Two Popes

Fri, Dec 13 / 9:30 pm
Sat, Dec 14 / 2 pm & 4:30 pm
Sun, Dec 15 / 4:30 pm
Wed & Thu, Dec 18 & 19 / 7 pm
Sat, Dec 21 / 7 pm & 9:15 pm
Sun, Dec 22 / 5 pm
Sun 15

Chained for Life

Thu, Dec 12 / 7 pm
Sat, Dec 14 / 9:15 pm
Sun, Dec 15 / 7 pm
Wed & Thu, Dec 18 & 19 / 9:15 pm
Tue 17

Restoration Tuesdays: The Cremator

Tue, Dec 3 / 7 pm
Tue, Dec 10 / 9 pm
Tue, Dec 17 / 7 pm
Tue, Dec 24 / 9 pm

ABOUT US

The Winnipeg Film Group is an artist-run education, production, exhibition and distribution centre committed to promoting the art of cinema.
our location

We’re located in the heart of Winnipeg's historic Exchange District in the Artspace building. We are across the street from Old Market Square at the corner of Arthur Street and Bannatyne - one block west of Main.

The Winnipeg Film Group is located on Treaty 1 Territory and on the ancestral lands of the Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota and Dene Peoples and in the homeland of the Métis Nation. We offer our respect and gratitude to the traditional caretakers of this land.

contact