Loading Events
Now Playing

Canada’s Top Ten: The Twentieth Century

Sat, Jan 11 / 9 pm (SOLD OUT)
Sun, Jan 12 / 7:30 pm
Wed, Jan 15 / 7 pm
Fri & Sat, Jan 17 & 18 / 9 pm
Sun, Jan 19 / 7 pm
Thu, Jan 23 / 9 pm
Directed by Matthew Rankin
2019, Canada, 90 min

Opening night screening introduced and Q&A with Matthew Rankin.

An incendiary send-up of Canadian identity, history, and politics, Matthew Rankin’s insanely brilliant feature debut is a hilariously irreverent, visually stunning retelling of how William Lyon Mackenzie King became Prime Minister… King seems destined to earn Canada’s crown, but just how much debasement and degradation must an ambitious young politician endure in such a noble pursuit? Quite a lot, it seems. Particularly when the affection of an unattainable woman becomes his priority. Along his epic journey, King will encounter devastating heartbreak, fascistic corruption, hilarious diversions to the outsider cities of Vancouver and Winnipeg, and… kinky boot sniffing. – VIFF

“A…totally twisted take on Canadian history… Best described as Guy Maddin meets John Waters by way of Powell and Pressburger…. A throwback to an MGM weepie and a colorized acid trip through historic hell, plunging us into a universe that’s entirely his own. The decors, which were designed by Dany Boivin, are particularly striking, with nods to classics like A Matter of Life and Death and The Lady From Shanghai.” – Jordan Mintzer, The Hollywood Reporter

*Best Canadian First Feature Award – 2019 Toronto International Film Festival*

Canada’s Top Ten Film Festival is generously sponsored by TIFF and IATSE 856.

     

Reviews

A cult classic. The Twentieth Century melts the transcendental style of Eraserhead, classical Hollywood and Duck Soup’s physical comedy into one rancid puddle of Rankin’s Old-style Canadian Maple Walnut Ice Cream Cinema. It’s Canadian expressionism at its wildest and most beautiful.
– Chandler Levack, The Globe and Mail
ASTONISHING…A MUST SEE, unlike anything  you’ll witness in quite some time. It is history that has been transformed and molded into degenerate art.
- Kevin Rakestraw, Film Pulse
« January 2020 » loading...
M T W T F S S
30
31
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
1
2
Sun 19

Optical Printer One on One Workshop Sessions

Appointment Based One on One Session
Sun 19

Documentary Master Class with Danielle Sturk

Sun, January 19 | 11:00AM – 2:00PM
Sun 19

Parasite

Thu, Jan 2 / 7 pm
Fri, Jan 3 / 9 pm
Sat, Jan 4 / 5 pm & 9:15 pm
Sun, Jan 5 / 7 pm
Wed & Thu, Jan 8 & 9 / 9 pm

ADDED SCREENINGS:
Mon, Jan 13 / 7 pm & 9:30 pm
Sun, Jan 19 / 12 pm
Mon, Jan 20 / 7 pm & 9:30 pm
Sat, Jan 25 / 12 pm
Sun, Jan 26 / 12 pm
Sun 19

Cabin Fever: Diary of a Wimpy Kid

Sun, Jan 19 / 3 pm
Free Admission!
Sun 19

Cranks

Wed, Jan 15 / 9 pm
Fri, Jan 17 / 7 pm
Sat, Jan 18 / 5 pm
Sun, Jan 19 / 5 pm
Wed, Jan 22 / 9:15 pm

ABOUT US

The Winnipeg Film Group is an artist-run education, production, exhibition and distribution centre committed to promoting the art of cinema.
our location

We’re located in the heart of Winnipeg's historic Exchange District in the Artspace building. We are across the street from Old Market Square at the corner of Arthur Street and Bannatyne - one block west of Main.

The Winnipeg Film Group is located on Treaty 1 Territory and on the ancestral lands of the Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota and Dene Peoples and in the homeland of the Métis Nation. We offer our respect and gratitude to the traditional caretakers of this land.

contact