Loading Events

Canada’s Top Ten: The Body Remembers When the World Broke Open

Thu, Jan 30 / 9:15 pm
Sat, Feb 1 / 2:30 pm
Sun, Feb 2 / 5 pm
Directed by Elle-Máijá Tailfeathers & Kathleen Hepburn
2019, Canada, 105 min

Discovering Rosie (Violet Nelson), a pregnant teenager, sobbing and barefoot on a rainy East Vancouver street, Áila (Elle-Máijá Tailfeathers) swiftly intercedes, initially offering shelter in her own apartment before working feverishly to get the girl access to proper support networks so that she needn’t return to her abusive home. As these two Indigenous women embark on a revelatory odyssey to a safe house, they must confront society’s assumptions about them, overcome their preconceptions about one another, and reflect on their own respective self-images.

Canada’s Top Ten Film Festival is generously sponsored by TIFF and IATSE 856.

     

Reviews

An outstanding drama... one of the year’s best Canadian films. Body gives a raw and real portrait of the everyday violence faced by Indigenous women in Canada... an ambitious and gutsy film that’s bound to knock the wind out of anyone who sees it. There is something achingly beautiful to the empathetic screen chemistry of these two strong women.
- Pat Mullen, That Shelf
« January 2020 » loading...
M T W T F S S
30
31
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
1
2
Sun 19

Optical Printer One on One Workshop Sessions

Appointment Based One on One Session
Sun 19

Canada’s Top Ten: The Twentieth Century

Sat, Jan 11 / 9 pm (SOLD OUT)
Sun, Jan 12 / 7:30 pm
Wed, Jan 15 / 7 pm
Fri & Sat, Jan 17 & 18 / 9 pm
Sun, Jan 19 / 7 pm
Thu, Jan 23 / 9 pm
Sun 19

Documentary Master Class with Danielle Sturk

Sun, January 19 | 11:00AM – 2:00PM
Sun 19

Parasite

Thu, Jan 2 / 7 pm
Fri, Jan 3 / 9 pm
Sat, Jan 4 / 5 pm & 9:15 pm
Sun, Jan 5 / 7 pm
Wed & Thu, Jan 8 & 9 / 9 pm

ADDED SCREENINGS:
Mon, Jan 13 / 7 pm & 9:30 pm
Sun, Jan 19 / 12 pm
Mon, Jan 20 / 7 pm & 9:30 pm
Sat, Jan 25 / 12 pm
Sun, Jan 26 / 12 pm
Sun 19

Cabin Fever: Diary of a Wimpy Kid

Sun, Jan 19 / 3 pm
Free Admission!

ABOUT US

The Winnipeg Film Group is an artist-run education, production, exhibition and distribution centre committed to promoting the art of cinema.
our location

We’re located in the heart of Winnipeg's historic Exchange District in the Artspace building. We are across the street from Old Market Square at the corner of Arthur Street and Bannatyne - one block west of Main.

The Winnipeg Film Group is located on Treaty 1 Territory and on the ancestral lands of the Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota and Dene Peoples and in the homeland of the Métis Nation. We offer our respect and gratitude to the traditional caretakers of this land.

contact