Loading Events
Now Playing

Canada’s Top Ten: Sol

Sat, Mar 21 / 3 pm
Directed by Marie-Hélène Cousineau & Susan Avingaq
2014, Canada, 76 min
Inuktitut & English w/English subtitles

This stirring documentary from investigates the suspicious death of 26-year-old Inuk actor and musician Solomon Tapatia Uyarasak, and the alarming youth suicide rate in the Arctic community. With its profound, lonesome beauty — especially in the opening sequence and home-movie footage — Sol is as heartbreaking a film as it is important and timely.

Generously  sponsored by IATSE 856 and Radio Canada Manitoba and presented with Tiff Canada’s Top Ten. 

top ten

IATSE856.d20080228-t121148           logo_ici_radio-canada_cmyk_couleur

« July 2019 » loading...
M T W T F S S
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
1
2
3
4
Tue 16

Optical Printer One on One Workshop Sessions

Appointment Based One on One Session
Tue 16

Shoot Some 16mm Film

Camera Orientation Day: Sat. June 1, 2019 – 10 AM – 2 PM (WFG Black Lodge Studio)

Shooting Days: June 3 – July 13, 2019

Processing Day: Sat. July 13 & Sun. July 14 – 10 AM – 2 PM (WFG Media Lab and Platform Dark Room)

Optical Printer Class: Sat. July 20 | 10am - 2pm

Editing: July – August

Screening Date: TBD
Tue 16

2019 WFG Summer Teen Filmmaking Camp

Session 1: Mon July 8 to Fri July 19 (10 AM to 3 PM) | WFG Media Lab & WFG Black Lodge

Session 2: Mon Aug 12 to Fri Aug 23 (10 AM to 3 PM) | WFG Media Lab & WFG Black Lodge
Fri 26
Tue 30

Restoration Tuesdays: Hard Ticket to Hawaii

Tue, July 2 / 7 pm *
Tue, July 9 / 7 pm & 9pm
Tue, July 30 / 7 pm & 9pm

ABOUT US

The Winnipeg Film Group is an artist-run education, production, exhibition and distribution centre committed to promoting the art of cinema.
our location

We’re located in the heart of Winnipeg's historic Exchange District in the Artspace building. We are across the street from Old Market Square at the corner of Arthur Street and Bannatyne - one block west of Main.

The Winnipeg Film Group is located on Treaty 1 Territory and on the ancestral lands of the Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota and Dene Peoples and in the homeland of the Métis Nation. We offer our respect and gratitude to the traditional caretakers of this land.

contact