Loading Events
Now Playing

Canada’s Top Ten: Nelly

Thu & Fri, Apr 13 & 14 / 9 pm
Sat Apr 15 / 7 pm
Sat, Apr 22 / 7 pm
Sun, Apr 23 / 3 pm
Directed by Anne Émond
2016, Canada, 100 min
French with English subtitles

In 2001, one of the most controversial writers in Quebec history, Nelly Arcan, published Putain (Whore), a tale of prostitution based on her own experience in the trade and it caused a sensation in literary circles. Émond’s onscreen Nelly is a composite of Arcan’s many personas and fictional characters and is brought to life in an astonishing performance by Mylène Mackay.

Canada’s Top Ten Film Festival – Now in its 16th year, Canada’s Top Ten Film Festival highlights the best features, shorts, and student shorts from across the country. The breadth of programming selected by  filmmakers, programmers, critics, and industry professionals represents the creative strength of the country’s best cinema.

Print

 

Reviews

Anne Émond’s Nelly will haunt you...Mylène Mackay plays all these characters (save for the youngest) in a tour de force performance. She is sultry, poised... saucy and strong. As the shards of Arcan’s tragic life collide, it’s impossible to leave without the impact of Nelly embedded in one’s mind, haunted for days to come.
- Pat Mullen, Cinemablographer
« Dec 2017 » loading...
M T W T F S S
27
28
29
30
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
Sat 16

78/52

Thu, Dec 14 / 9 pm
Fri - Sun, Dec 15 - 17 / 7 pm
Thu & Fri, Dec 21 & 22 / 9 pm
Sat 16

Psycho

Fri & Sat, Dec 15 & 16 / 9 pm
Sun 17

Aki Kaurismäki’s The Other Side of Hope

Thu & Fri, Dec 7 & 8 / 9 pm
Sat, Dec 9 / 3 pm
Sun, Dec 10 / 7 pm
Wed & Thu, Dec 13 & 14 / 7 pm
Sat & Sun , Dec 16 & 17 / 3 pm
Wed 20

The Little Hours

Wed – Fri, Dec 20 – 22 / 7 pm
Thu & Fri, Dec 28 & 29 / 9 pm
Sat, Dec 30 / 9 pm

ABOUT US

The Winnipeg Film Group is an artist-run education, production, exhibition and distribution centre committed to promoting the art of cinema.
our location
We’re located across the street from Old Market Square, on the 3rd floor of the Artspace building (just upstairs from our Cinematheque) at 100 Arthur Street at Bannatyne - one block west of Main Contact Us
contact