Loading Events

Canada’s Top Ten: Murmur

Thu & Fri, Jan 23 & 24 / 7 pm
Sat, Jan 25 / 2:30 pm
Sun, Jan 26 / 5 pm
Wed, Jan 29 / 7 pm
Directed by Heather Young
2019, Canada, 84 min

In one of the most auspicious debut features at TIFF, Heather Young further establishes herself as one of her country’s most promising filmmakers. Brilliantly fusing documentary and fiction techniques, Young crafts a bold, distinct visual aesthetic. Donna (Shan MacDonald), a woman in her sixties, feels isolated. She lives alone, estranged from her daughter. Sentenced to community service at a local animal shelter after an impaired-driving conviction, she ends up taking home an elderly dog. The new-found companionship eases her loneliness, and to fill the void in her life further, Donna keeps adopting pets.

Canada’s Top Ten Film Festival is generously sponsored by TIFF and IATSE 856.

     

Reviews

A brave work… so quiet and still and contemplative. The film is also compassionate.  Donna is a woman with a lot of love to give, but with no recipient in sight, she tries to fill a void.
– Hillary Butler, Live for Films
Quietly shattering... MacDonald, a non-professional actor making a devastating debut…lets us feel every moment of Donna’s empathy for the creatures in her care.
– Norm Wilner, NOW Weekly
« January 2020 » loading...
M T W T F S S
30
31
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
1
2
Sun 19

Optical Printer One on One Workshop Sessions

Appointment Based One on One Session
Sun 19

Documentary Master Class with Danielle Sturk

Sun, January 19 | 11:00AM – 2:00PM
Sun 19

Parasite

Thu, Jan 2 / 7 pm
Fri, Jan 3 / 9 pm
Sat, Jan 4 / 5 pm & 9:15 pm
Sun, Jan 5 / 7 pm
Wed & Thu, Jan 8 & 9 / 9 pm

ADDED SCREENINGS:
Mon, Jan 13 / 7 pm & 9:30 pm
Sun, Jan 19 / 12 pm
Mon, Jan 20 / 7 pm & 9:30 pm
Sat, Jan 25 / 12 pm
Sun, Jan 26 / 12 pm
Sun 19

Cabin Fever: Diary of a Wimpy Kid

Sun, Jan 19 / 3 pm
Free Admission!
Sun 19

Cranks

Wed, Jan 15 / 9 pm
Fri, Jan 17 / 7 pm
Sat, Jan 18 / 5 pm
Sun, Jan 19 / 5 pm
Wed, Jan 22 / 9:15 pm

ABOUT US

The Winnipeg Film Group is an artist-run education, production, exhibition and distribution centre committed to promoting the art of cinema.
our location

We’re located in the heart of Winnipeg's historic Exchange District in the Artspace building. We are across the street from Old Market Square at the corner of Arthur Street and Bannatyne - one block west of Main.

The Winnipeg Film Group is located on Treaty 1 Territory and on the ancestral lands of the Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota and Dene Peoples and in the homeland of the Métis Nation. We offer our respect and gratitude to the traditional caretakers of this land.

contact