Loading Events

Canada’s Top Ten: Mouthpiece

Fri, Feb 1 / 9:30 pm
Sat, Feb 2 / 3 pm & 7 pm
Wed, Feb 6 / 7 pm
Thu, Feb 9 / 5 pm & 9 pm
Directed by Patricia Rozema
2018, Canada, 91 min

Patricia Rozema (I’ve Heard the Mermaids Singing) adapts the award-winning two-woman play by Amy Nostbakken and Norah Sadava, about an aspiring writer attempting to reconcile her feminism with the conformist choices of her mother following her sudden death. A potent exploration of how women across generations contend with their own socialization. Rozema knots together the thematic threads of her past work — feminist consciousness, the struggle for self-expression — into one of her most vibrant films to date.


Canada‘s Top Ten Film Festival returns for the 18th year with a diverse and compelling line up of features and shorts. In January and February, we will present the first part of this program. It will be continued later in March to June. This series is generously sponsored by IATSE 856 and William F. White International.

        

Reviews

Fiery, blackly comic and terribly poignant.. bracingly sharp.
- Pamela Hutchinson, Sight and Sound
« January 2019 » loading...
M T W T F S S
31
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
1
2
3
Wed 16

Optical Printer One on One Workshop Sessions

Appointment Based One on One Session
Wed 16
Thu 17

Canada’s Top Ten: Anthropocene: The Human Epoch

Sat, Jan 5 / 9:30 pm
Sun, Jan 6 / 5 pm
Fri, Jan 11 / 7 pm
Sat, Jan 12 / 7:15 pm
Sun, Jan 13 / 5 pm
Thu, Jan 17 / 7 pm
Fri, Jan 18 / 9 pm
Sat, Jan 19 / 5 pm
Thu 17
Fri 18

Jean-Pierre Melville: Le doulos

Fri, Jan 18 / 7 pm
Sat, Jan 26 / 3 pm

ABOUT US

The Winnipeg Film Group is an artist-run education, production, exhibition and distribution centre committed to promoting the art of cinema.
our location

We’re located in the heart of Winnipeg's historic Exchange District in the Artspace building. We are across the street from Old Market Square at the corner of Arthur Street and Bannatyne - one block west of Main.

The Winnipeg Film Group is located on Treaty 1 Territory and on the ancestral lands of the Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota and Dene Peoples and in the homeland of the Métis Nation. We offer our respect and gratitude to the traditional caretakers of this land.

contact