Loading Events
Now Playing

Canada’s Top Ten: Maliglutit (Searchers)

Thu, Mar 2 / 7 pm
Sat, Mar 4 / 3 pm & 7 pm
Sun, Mar 5 / 7 pm
Directed by Zacharias Kunuk
2016, Canada, 93 min
Inuktitut with English subtitles

March 4 & 5, 7 pm screenings introduced by Zacharias Kunuk and Producer/Cinematographer Jonathan Frantz.

Fifteen years ago, Inuk filmmaker Zacharias Kunuk won the prestigious Cannes award for Best First Feature for his epic film Atanarjuat: The Fast Runner. Kunuk returns ten years later with collaborator Natar Ungalaaq and has used the plot of John Ford’s 1956 western The Searchers as inspiration for a very different kind of revenge story. An Inuk man and his band of followers (maliglutit) set out across the barren Arctic in search of the marauders who have ransacked his home and kidnapped his wife. As their quest leads to further violence, the line between just and unjust becomes dangerously blurred.

Canada’s Top Ten Film Festival – Now in its 16th year, Canada’s Top Ten Film Festival highlights the best features, shorts, and student shorts from across the country. The breadth of programming selected by  filmmakers, programmers, critics, and industry professionals represents the creative strength of the country’s best cinema.

Print

Reviews

An all-Inuit cast and Inuktitut dialogue....Maliglutit draws on the power of the natural elements, like the landscape and sunlight, to present a part of the world that rarely appears on film….visionary. - Pat Mullen, Cinemablographer
« August 2019 » loading...
M T W T F S S
29
30
31
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
1
Wed 21

Optical Printer One on One Workshop Sessions

Appointment Based One on One Session
Wed 21

Shoot Some 16mm Film

Camera Orientation Day: Sat. June 1, 2019 – 10 AM – 2 PM (WFG Black Lodge Studio)

Shooting Days: June 3 – July 13, 2019

Processing Day: Sat. July 13 & Sun. July 14 – 10 AM – 2 PM (WFG Media Lab and Platform Dark Room)

Optical Printer Class: Sat. July 20 | 10am - 2pm

Editing: July – August

Screening Date: TBD
Wed 21

2019 WFG Summer Teen Filmmaking Camp

Session 2: Mon Aug 12 to Fri Aug 23 (10 AM to 3 PM) | WFG Media Lab & WFG Black Lodge
Wed 21

Gimme Some Truth presents: Shella Record – A Reggae Mystery

Wed, Aug 21 / 7 pm
Thu, Aug 22 / 9:30 pm
Fri, Aug 23 / 9 pm
Sat, Aug 24 / 3 pm & 9 pm
Sun, Aug 25 / 7 pm
Wed, Aug 28 / 9 pm
Sat, Aug 31 / 9 pm
Wed 21

Be Natural: The Untold Story of Alice Guy-Blaché

Wed, Aug 14 / 7 pm
Thu & Fri, Aug 15 & 16 / 9:15 pm
Sat, Aug 17 / 5 pm & 9:15 pm
Sun Aug 18 / 3 pm
Wed, Aug 21 / 9 pm

ABOUT US

The Winnipeg Film Group is an artist-run education, production, exhibition and distribution centre committed to promoting the art of cinema.
our location

We’re located in the heart of Winnipeg's historic Exchange District in the Artspace building. We are across the street from Old Market Square at the corner of Arthur Street and Bannatyne - one block west of Main.

The Winnipeg Film Group is located on Treaty 1 Territory and on the ancestral lands of the Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota and Dene Peoples and in the homeland of the Métis Nation. We offer our respect and gratitude to the traditional caretakers of this land.

contact