Loading Events
Now Playing

Canada’s Top Ten: It’s Only the End of the World (Juste la fin du monde)

Sat & Sun, Mar 18 & 19 / 7 pm
Directed by Xavier Dolan
2016, Canada, 99 min
French with English subtitles

Quebec boy wonder Xavier Dolan, director of Mommy, returns once again with a film of electrifying family dynamics. Winner of the Grand Prix at last year’s Cannes Film Festival,this film is a magnificent and thunderous drama about home and familial roots. Louis is a terminally ill writer who returns home to tell his family he is dying. His arrivalprecipitates chaos. His mother (Nathalie Baye) has tried to keep her family together despite their struggles in the wake of Louis’ departure, and his tempestuous siblings andintroverted sister-in-law have their own crosses and grudges to bear. The group deconstructs a life’s worth of damaged family dynamics while the writer becomes a mostly silent observer.

Canada’s Top Ten Film Festival – Now in its 16th year, Canada’s Top Ten Film Festival highlights the best features, shorts, and student shorts from across the country. The breadth of programming selected by  filmmakers, programmers, critics, and industry professionals represents the creative strength of the country’s best cinema.

Print

Reviews

A brilliant, stylised and hallucinatory evocation of family dysfunction.
- The Guardian 
« August 2019 » loading...
M T W T F S S
29
30
31
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
1
Mon 19

Optical Printer One on One Workshop Sessions

Appointment Based One on One Session
Mon 19

Shoot Some 16mm Film

Camera Orientation Day: Sat. June 1, 2019 – 10 AM – 2 PM (WFG Black Lodge Studio)

Shooting Days: June 3 – July 13, 2019

Processing Day: Sat. July 13 & Sun. July 14 – 10 AM – 2 PM (WFG Media Lab and Platform Dark Room)

Optical Printer Class: Sat. July 20 | 10am - 2pm

Editing: July – August

Screening Date: TBD
Mon 19

2019 WFG Summer Teen Filmmaking Camp

Session 2: Mon Aug 12 to Fri Aug 23 (10 AM to 3 PM) | WFG Media Lab & WFG Black Lodge
Mon 19

nîpawistamâsowin: We Will Stand Up

ADDITIONAL SCREENINGS ADDED:
Sat & Sun, Aug 3 & 4 / 1 pm
Sat, Aug 17 / 1 pm
Mon, Aug 19 / 7 pm *
Mon, Aug 26 / 7 pm
Tue 20

Restoration Tuesdays: Between the Lines

Tue, Aug 6 / 7 pm
Tue, Aug 13 / 9 pm
Tue, Aug 20 / 7 pm
Tue, Aug 27 / 9 pm

ABOUT US

The Winnipeg Film Group is an artist-run education, production, exhibition and distribution centre committed to promoting the art of cinema.
our location

We’re located in the heart of Winnipeg's historic Exchange District in the Artspace building. We are across the street from Old Market Square at the corner of Arthur Street and Bannatyne - one block west of Main.

The Winnipeg Film Group is located on Treaty 1 Territory and on the ancestral lands of the Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota and Dene Peoples and in the homeland of the Métis Nation. We offer our respect and gratitude to the traditional caretakers of this land.

contact