Loading Events
Now Playing

Canada’s Top Ten: Antigone

Fri, Jan 24 / 9 pm
Sat, Jan 25 / 4:30 pm
Sun, Jan 26 / 7 pm
Directed by Sophie Deraspe
2019, Canada, 109 min
French with English subtitles

The Canadian entry at the Academy Awards for Best Foreign Film, Antigone also won the Best Canadian Feature at last year’s Toronto International Film Festival. A compassionate family drama that doesn’t hold back on its indictment of the current refugee and immigrant experience in North America. Following the murder of their parents, Antigone, her sister Ismène, her brothers Étéocle and Polynice, and their grandmother Ménécée find refuge in Montreal. Tragedy strikes when Étéocle is wrongfully gunned down by police during the arrest of Polynice, a small-time drug dealer.

Canada’s Top Ten Film Festival is generously sponsored by TIFF and IATSE 856.

     

Reviews

Provocative...touching and deeply affecting...a compassionate family drama that offers another snapshot of the refugee crisis.
– Meredith Taylor, filmuforia
« September 2020 » loading...
M T W T F S S
31
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
1
2
3
4
Sun 27

Epicentro

Available to rent until October 19
Sun 27

You Cannot Kill David Arquette

Available to rent until October 19
Sun 27

Eraserhead (4K Restoration)

Tue, Sept 22 / 7 pm
Thu, Sept 24 / 7 pm
Sat, Sept 26 / 9 pm
Sun, Sept 27 / 7:30 pm
Wed, Sept 30 / 9:15 pm
Sun 27

Kuessipan

Fri, Sept 25 / 6:30 pm
Sat, Sept 26 / 6:15 pm
Sun, Sept 27 / 2 pm & 4:45 pm
Tue & Wed, Sept 29 & 30 / 6:30 pm
Wed 30

Mulholland Drive (4K Restoration)

Sat, Sept 19 / 8:30 pm
Tue & Wed, Sept 22 & 23 / 9:15 pm
Fri, Sept 25 / 9:15 pm
Sat, Sept 26 / 3 pm
Tue, Sep 29 / 9:15 pm

ABOUT US

The Winnipeg Film Group is an artist-run education, production, exhibition and distribution centre committed to promoting the art of cinema.
our location

We’re located in the heart of Winnipeg's historic Exchange District in the Artspace building. We are across the street from Old Market Square at the corner of Arthur Street and Bannatyne - one block west of Main.

The Winnipeg Film Group is located on Treaty 1 Territory and on the ancestral lands of the Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota and Dene Peoples and in the homeland of the Métis Nation. We offer our respect and gratitude to the traditional caretakers of this land.

contact