Loading Events
Now Playing

Canada’s Top Ten: Angry Inuk

Wed, Mar 1 / 7 pm
Thu, Mar 2 / 9 pm
Sat, Mar 4 / 9:15 pm
Sun, Mar 5 / 3 pm
Directed by Alethea Arnaquq-Baril
2016, Canada, 82 min
Inuktitut & English with subtitles

A hit at last year’s Gimme Some Truth, director Alethea Arnaquq-Baril examines with heartbreaking effect the impact of seal hunting protests on Inuit communities in Canada and around the world. Part exposé, part personal documentary, and part community portrait (Baril’s family lives on Baffin Island, one of the regions hardest hit in economic terms by various protests and bans), Angry Inuk charts the history of the anti-sealing movement with precision and clarity.

Canada’s Top Ten Film Festival – Now in its 16th year, Canada’s Top Ten Film Festival highlights the best features, shorts, and student shorts from across the country. The breadth of programming selected by  filmmakers, programmers, critics, and industry professionals represents the creative strength of the country’s best cinema.

Print

 

Reviews

Angry Inuk delivers important information about an issue we tend to think we know everything about and delivers a powerful emotional punch. Activist cinema at its best.
- Now Magazine
« September 2019 » loading...
M T W T F S S
26
27
28
29
30
31
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
1
2
3
4
5
6
Sat 21

Optical Printer One on One Workshop Sessions

Appointment Based One on One Session
Sat 21

Marianne & Leonard: Words of Love

Fri, Sept 13 / 7 pm
Sat, Sept 14 / 3 pm & 9:30 pm
Sun, Sept 15 / 3 pm
Wed, Sept 18 / 9:30 pm
Sat, Sept 21 / 3 pm & 9:30 pm
Sun, Sept 22 / 7 pm
Sat 21

Asako I & II

Sat, Sept 14 / 7:30 pm
Wed, Sept 18 / 7 pm
Thu & Fri, Sept 19 & 20 / 9 pm
Sat, Sept 21 / 5 pm
Wed, Sept 25 / 9 pm
Sat, Sept 28 / 3 pm & 5 pm
Sat 21

Running Water 3D

Thu, Sept 19 / 7 pm (SOLD OUT)
Sat, Sept 21 / 7:30 pm (SOLD OUT)
Sun 22

ABOUT US

The Winnipeg Film Group is an artist-run education, production, exhibition and distribution centre committed to promoting the art of cinema.
our location

We’re located in the heart of Winnipeg's historic Exchange District in the Artspace building. We are across the street from Old Market Square at the corner of Arthur Street and Bannatyne - one block west of Main.

The Winnipeg Film Group is located on Treaty 1 Territory and on the ancestral lands of the Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota and Dene Peoples and in the homeland of the Métis Nation. We offer our respect and gratitude to the traditional caretakers of this land.

contact