Loading Events
Now Playing

Cabin Fever: The Princess Bride

Sun, Feb 4 / 2 pm
FREE ADMISSION
Directed by Rob Reiner
1987, USA, 98 min

A fairytale as told to a bedridden boy. The story, adapted from William Goldman’s book, is partly a traditional fantasy, with a damsel in distress, dashing lover, evil villains, and lotsa monsters and swordfights, but also a knowing commentary on the conventions of all such tales…. kids will love it.” – Time Out

Generously sponsored by the Assiniboine Credit Union.

Reviews

It's a fairytale with bite. Children can see it as a bright, frothy adventure while adults will appreciate the subtlety and the sheer wit. The film mocks sword fantasies yet it also delights in them and is somehow able to trumpet the genre while simultaneously laughing at it. A rich, all-engrossing treat. -BBC
« August 2019 » loading...
M T W T F S S
29
30
31
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
1
Sun 18

Optical Printer One on One Workshop Sessions

Appointment Based One on One Session
Sun 18

Shoot Some 16mm Film

Camera Orientation Day: Sat. June 1, 2019 – 10 AM – 2 PM (WFG Black Lodge Studio)

Shooting Days: June 3 – July 13, 2019

Processing Day: Sat. July 13 & Sun. July 14 – 10 AM – 2 PM (WFG Media Lab and Platform Dark Room)

Optical Printer Class: Sat. July 20 | 10am - 2pm

Editing: July – August

Screening Date: TBD
Sun 18

2019 WFG Summer Teen Filmmaking Camp

Session 2: Mon Aug 12 to Fri Aug 23 (10 AM to 3 PM) | WFG Media Lab & WFG Black Lodge
Sun 18

Be Natural: The Untold Story of Alice Guy-Blaché

Wed, Aug 14 / 7 pm
Thu & Fri, Aug 15 & 16 / 9:15 pm
Sat, Aug 17 / 5 pm & 9:15 pm
Sun Aug 18 / 3 pm
Wed, Aug 21 / 9 pm
Sun 18

ABOUT US

The Winnipeg Film Group is an artist-run education, production, exhibition and distribution centre committed to promoting the art of cinema.
our location

We’re located in the heart of Winnipeg's historic Exchange District in the Artspace building. We are across the street from Old Market Square at the corner of Arthur Street and Bannatyne - one block west of Main.

The Winnipeg Film Group is located on Treaty 1 Territory and on the ancestral lands of the Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota and Dene Peoples and in the homeland of the Métis Nation. We offer our respect and gratitude to the traditional caretakers of this land.

contact