Loading Events

Cabin Fever: Supa Modo

Sun, Feb 23 / 1 pm
Free Admission!
Directed by Lukarion Wainaina
2018, Germany/Kenya, 74 mins
English, Kikuyu & Swahili with English subtitles

There will be free stop motion animation workshops offered by Art City one hour prior to the screening.

Obsessed with Jackie Chan and action films, nine-year-old Jo dreams of being a superhero, but time is not on her side. When the doctors reveal that she is terminally ill, Jo leaves the hospital and returns home to be with her mom and sister. While her mom insists that she stay inside and rest, her sister has different plans. With the entire village’s support, they decide to make dreams a reality and turn Jo into the superhero they know she is.


What started as a dream in 2005 has blossomed into an annual rite of passage for parents and their kids. They can shake the snow off their boots and spend an afternoon at the movies for free every Sunday throughout January and February. The popularity of this series, aimed at children 6-12, means that families with children will be seated first. We appreciate your cooperation.

We gratefully acknowledge the support of the Assiniboine Credit Union, this screening is presented as part of the Afro Prairie Film Festival.

        

Reviews

Enchanting and inspiring...A delightful debut, Supa Modo is a celebration of life, friendship and the family bonds that can never be broken.
- Courtney Small, Cinema Axis
« January 2020 » loading...
M T W T F S S
30
31
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
1
2
Sun 19

Optical Printer One on One Workshop Sessions

Appointment Based One on One Session
Sun 19

Canada’s Top Ten: The Twentieth Century

Sat, Jan 11 / 9 pm (SOLD OUT)
Sun, Jan 12 / 7:30 pm
Wed, Jan 15 / 7 pm
Fri & Sat, Jan 17 & 18 / 9 pm
Sun, Jan 19 / 7 pm
Thu, Jan 23 / 9 pm
Sun 19

Documentary Master Class with Danielle Sturk

Sun, January 19 | 11:00AM – 2:00PM
Sun 19

Parasite

Thu, Jan 2 / 7 pm
Fri, Jan 3 / 9 pm
Sat, Jan 4 / 5 pm & 9:15 pm
Sun, Jan 5 / 7 pm
Wed & Thu, Jan 8 & 9 / 9 pm

ADDED SCREENINGS:
Mon, Jan 13 / 7 pm & 9:30 pm
Sun, Jan 19 / 12 pm
Mon, Jan 20 / 7 pm & 9:30 pm
Sat, Jan 25 / 12 pm
Sun, Jan 26 / 12 pm
Sun 19

Cabin Fever: Diary of a Wimpy Kid

Sun, Jan 19 / 3 pm
Free Admission!

ABOUT US

The Winnipeg Film Group is an artist-run education, production, exhibition and distribution centre committed to promoting the art of cinema.
our location

We’re located in the heart of Winnipeg's historic Exchange District in the Artspace building. We are across the street from Old Market Square at the corner of Arthur Street and Bannatyne - one block west of Main.

The Winnipeg Film Group is located on Treaty 1 Territory and on the ancestral lands of the Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota and Dene Peoples and in the homeland of the Métis Nation. We offer our respect and gratitude to the traditional caretakers of this land.

contact