Loading Events
Now Playing

Cabin Fever: Matilda

Sun, Feb 13 / 1pm
Free Admission!
Directed by Danny DeVito
1996, USA, 98 mins, PG

This film adaptation of a Roald Dahl work tells the story of Matilda Wormwood (Mara Wilson), a gifted girl forced to put up with a crude, distant father (Danny DeVito) and mother (Rhea Perlman). Worse, Agatha Trunchbull (Pam Ferris), the evil principal at Matilda’s school, is a terrifyingly strict bully. However, when Matilda realizes she has the power of telekinesis, she begins to defend her friends from Trunchbull’s wrath and fight back against her unkind parents.

Plays with The Big Swing
Dir. Paula Gillgannon
2011, 1 min
The macabre tale of a child trying to overcome her fear of the swing.


Cinematheque acknowledges the continued and generous support of the Assiniboine Credit Union for our Cabin Fever series.

 

Reviews

Matilda doesn't condescend to children, it doesn't sentimentalize, and as a result it feels heartfelt and sincere.
- Chicago Sun-Times
« November 2022 » loading...
M T W T F S S
31
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
1
2
3
4
Wed 30

Trash Cult Tuesdays: Oldboy

Tue, Nov 1 / 7pm
Tue, Nov 8 / 9:15pm
Tue, Nov 15 / 7pm
Tue, Nov 22 / 9:15pm
Tue, Nov 29 / 7pm
Wed 30

Trash Cult Tuesdays: Lady Vengeance

Tue, Nov 1 / 9:15pm
Tue, Nov 8 / 7pm
Tue, Nov 15 / 9:15pm
Tue, Nov 22 / 7pm
Tue, Nov 29 / 9:15pm
Thu 01

Daisies

Thu, Nov 24 / 7pm
Fri, Nov 25 / 9:30pm
Sun, Nov 27 / 7:15pm
Wed, Nov 30 / 7pm
Thu 01

Holy Spider

Fri, Nov 18 / 9:15pm
Sat, Nov 19 / 9pm
Sun, Nov 20 / 5pm
Thu, Nov 24 / 8:45pm
Sat, Nov 26 / 7pm
Sun, Nov 27 / 5pm
Wed, Nov 30 / 8:45pm

ABOUT US

The Winnipeg Film Group is an artist-run education, production, exhibition and distribution centre committed to promoting the art of cinema.
our location

We’re located in the heart of Winnipeg's historic Exchange District in the Artspace building. We are across the street from Old Market Square at the corner of Arthur Street and Bannatyne - one block west of Main.

The Winnipeg Film Group is located on Treaty 1 Territory and on the ancestral lands of the Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota and Dene Peoples and in the homeland of the Métis Nation. We offer our respect and gratitude to the traditional caretakers of this land.

contact