Loading Events
Now Playing

Cabin Fever: The Last Starfighter

Sun, Jan 27 / 3 pm
Directed by Nick Castle
1984, USA, 101 min

There will be will be free stop motion animation workshop offered by Art City one hour prior to the film.

Alex Rogan finds himself transported to another planet after conquering a video game, discovering that it was just a test to recruit him to a team of starfighters defending their world from the attack.


What started as a dream in 2005 has blossomed into a rite of passage for parents and their kids. They can shake the snow off their boots and spend an afternoon at the movies every Sunday all through January and February thanks to the generous support of the Assiniboine Credit Union. Due to the popularity of this series it is our desire that parents and their kids be seated before all others. Thanks for your understanding.

We acknowledge the continued and generous support of the Assiniboine Credit Union.

Reviews

With The Last Starfighter, director Nick Castle and writer Jonathan Betuel have done something so simple it’s almost awe-inspiring: they’ve taken a very human story and accented it with sci-fi special effects, rather than the other way around.
- Variety
« December 2019 » loading...
M T W T F S S
25
26
27
28
29
30
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
1
2
3
4
5
Tue 10

Optical Printer One on One Workshop Sessions

Appointment Based One on One Session
Tue 10

Restorations Tuesdays: My 20th Century

Tue, Dec 3 / 9 pm
Tue, Dec 10 / 7 pm
Tue, Dec 17 / 9 pm
Tue, Dec 24 / 7 pm
Tue 10

Restoration Tuesdays: The Cremator

Tue, Dec 3 / 7 pm
Tue, Dec 10 / 9 pm
Tue, Dec 17 / 7 pm
Tue, Dec 24 / 9 pm
Wed 11

Pain & Glory

Thu Dec 5 / 7 pm
Fri, Dec 6 / 9 pm
Sat, Dec 7 / 5 pm & 7:15 pm
Sun, Dec 8 / 7 pm
Wed, Dec 11 / 7 pm
Thu, Dec 12 / 9 pm
Sat, Dec 14 / 7 pm
Sun, Dec 15 / 2 pm
Wed 11

Tigers Are Not Afraid

Wed & Thu, Dec 4 & 5 / 9:15 pm
Sat, Dec 7 / 3 pm & 9:15 pm
Sun, Dec 8 / 3 pm & 5 pm
Wed, Dec 11 / 9:15 pm

ABOUT US

The Winnipeg Film Group is an artist-run education, production, exhibition and distribution centre committed to promoting the art of cinema.
our location

We’re located in the heart of Winnipeg's historic Exchange District in the Artspace building. We are across the street from Old Market Square at the corner of Arthur Street and Bannatyne - one block west of Main.

The Winnipeg Film Group is located on Treaty 1 Territory and on the ancestral lands of the Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota and Dene Peoples and in the homeland of the Métis Nation. We offer our respect and gratitude to the traditional caretakers of this land.

contact