Loading Events
Now Playing

Cabin Fever: Children of the Sea

Sun, March 27 / 1pm
Free Admission!
Directed by Ayumu Watanabe
2019, Japan, 111 mins, not rated
English dubbed

Adapted from the manga of the same name. When Ruka was younger, she saw a ghost in the water at the aquarium where her dad works. Now she feels drawn toward the aquarium and the two mysterious boys she meets there, Umi and Sora. They were raised by dugongs and hear the same strange calls from the sea as she does. Ruka’s dad and the other adults who work at the aquarium are only distantly aware of what the children are experiencing as they get caught up in the mystery of the worldwide disappearance of the oceans’ fish.

Plays with Walk-in-the-Forest
Dir. Diane Obomsawin
2009, 3 min
Diane Obomsawin’s whimsical animated short follows medicine man Walk-in-the-forest on a walk in the woods that leads to the discovery of an intriguing secret world.


There will be free stop motion animation workshop offered by Art City in the Artspace lobby from noon-1pm.

Cinematheque acknowledges the continued and generous support of the Assiniboine Credit Union for our Cabin Fever series.

 

 

Reviews

A surging tsunami-crash of creativity and beauty.
- The Telegraph
« November 2022 » loading...
M T W T F S S
31
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
1
2
3
4
Wed 30

Trash Cult Tuesdays: Oldboy

Tue, Nov 1 / 7pm
Tue, Nov 8 / 9:15pm
Tue, Nov 15 / 7pm
Tue, Nov 22 / 9:15pm
Tue, Nov 29 / 7pm
Wed 30

Trash Cult Tuesdays: Lady Vengeance

Tue, Nov 1 / 9:15pm
Tue, Nov 8 / 7pm
Tue, Nov 15 / 9:15pm
Tue, Nov 22 / 7pm
Tue, Nov 29 / 9:15pm
Thu 01

Daisies

Thu, Nov 24 / 7pm
Fri, Nov 25 / 9:30pm
Sun, Nov 27 / 7:15pm
Wed, Nov 30 / 7pm
Thu 01

Holy Spider

Fri, Nov 18 / 9:15pm
Sat, Nov 19 / 9pm
Sun, Nov 20 / 5pm
Thu, Nov 24 / 8:45pm
Sat, Nov 26 / 7pm
Sun, Nov 27 / 5pm
Wed, Nov 30 / 8:45pm

ABOUT US

The Winnipeg Film Group is an artist-run education, production, exhibition and distribution centre committed to promoting the art of cinema.
our location

We’re located in the heart of Winnipeg's historic Exchange District in the Artspace building. We are across the street from Old Market Square at the corner of Arthur Street and Bannatyne - one block west of Main.

The Winnipeg Film Group is located on Treaty 1 Territory and on the ancestral lands of the Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota and Dene Peoples and in the homeland of the Métis Nation. We offer our respect and gratitude to the traditional caretakers of this land.

contact