Loading Events
Now Playing

Black Space: Sorry to Bother You

Fri, Dec 7 / 7 pm & 9:30 pm
Directed by Boots Riley
2018, USA, 105 min

In an alternate present-day version of Oakland, Cassius Green (Lakeith Stanfield) is struggling to make a living. He gets a job as a telemarketer, but it’s not until a fellow black employee (Danny Glover) advises him to use his “white” voice, that Cassius becomes successful. He gets promoted to being a “power caller,” which puts him on the upper floor, where he’s provided all kinds of perks. However,he soon discovers that what he is being asked to do is morally wrong. His girlfriend Detroit (Tessa Thompson) objects, even when CEO Steve Lift  (Armie Hammer) offers him $100,000,000.

PRESENTED IN PARTNERSHIP WITH BLACK SPACE WINNIPEG.

Reviews

Sorry to Bother You is loaded with capricious details that shimmer with the exuberance of inspired social commentary at hyperspeed. -IndieWire Eric Kohn
« April 2019 » loading...
M T W T F S S
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
1
2
3
4
5
Sun 21

Optical Printer One on One Workshop Sessions

Appointment Based One on One Session
Sun 21

2019 Spring Basic Filmmaking Class **SOLD OUT**

March 11, 2019 - May 12, 2019 | 7pm - 10pm
Sun 21

The Woman Who Loves Giraffes

Sat, Apr 6 / 3 pm & 5 pm
Sun, Apr 7 / 3 pm
Fri, Apr 12 / 7 pm
Sat & Sun, Apr 13 & 14 / 5 pm & 7 pm
Thu, Apr 18 / 7 pm
Sat, Apr 20 / 3 pm
Sun, Apr 21 / 3 pm & 5 pm
Sun 21

Burning (Beoning)

Wed, Apr 17 / 8:30 pm
Fri, Apr 19 / 7 pm
Sat, Apr 20 / 5 pm
Sun, Apr 21 / 7 pm
Wed & Thu, Apr 24 & 25 / 7 pm
Fri, Apr 26 / 9 pm
Sat, Apr 27 / 2 pm & 9 pm
Sun, Apr 28 / 2 pm
Tue 23

Restoration Tuesdays: Rocco and His Brothers

Tue, Apr 2 / 7 pm
Tue, Apr 9 / 7 pm
Tue, Apr 16 / 7 pm
Tue, Apr 23 / 7 pm
Tue, Apr 30 / 7 pm

ABOUT US

The Winnipeg Film Group is an artist-run education, production, exhibition and distribution centre committed to promoting the art of cinema.
our location

We’re located in the heart of Winnipeg's historic Exchange District in the Artspace building. We are across the street from Old Market Square at the corner of Arthur Street and Bannatyne - one block west of Main.

The Winnipeg Film Group is located on Treaty 1 Territory and on the ancestral lands of the Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota and Dene Peoples and in the homeland of the Métis Nation. We offer our respect and gratitude to the traditional caretakers of this land.

contact