Loading Events
Now Playing

Bella Ciao!

Wed & Thu, June 12 & 13 / 8:30 pm
Fri, June 14 / 7 pm
Sat, June 15 / 5 pm & 7 pm
Sun, June 16 / 3 pm
Directed By Carolyn Combs
2018, Canada, 84 min

Introduced by writer Michael Springate and director Carolyn Combs

Written by Michael Springate (former PTE Artistic Director) Bella Ciao! takes place on Vancouver’s most cosmopolitan street – Commercial Drive. Carolyn Combs’ compassionate and heartfelt ensemble drama about home and displacement, isolation and solidarity unfolds over the course of a day. Constanza (Carmen Aguirre), a Chilean refugee and activist’s relationship with her daughter is tested by serious health concerns they’d rather not confront. But this is only one thread played out amidst an Altmanesque carnival of characters from myriad walks of life: artists, hustlers, restauranteurs, and the coffee house consiglieri who converge on the Drive daily.

Reviews

Heartfelt...the story has touches of the surreal and possibly even the supernatural. The cast is strong — Aguirre, in particular, has an extraordinary face and a powerful, quiet screen presence.
- Alison Gillmor, Winnipeg Free Press
« December 2019 » loading...
M T W T F S S
25
26
27
28
29
30
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
1
2
3
4
5
Tue 10

Optical Printer One on One Workshop Sessions

Appointment Based One on One Session
Tue 10

Restorations Tuesdays: My 20th Century

Tue, Dec 3 / 9 pm
Tue, Dec 10 / 7 pm
Tue, Dec 17 / 9 pm
Tue, Dec 24 / 7 pm
Tue 10

Restoration Tuesdays: The Cremator

Tue, Dec 3 / 7 pm
Tue, Dec 10 / 9 pm
Tue, Dec 17 / 7 pm
Tue, Dec 24 / 9 pm
Wed 11

Pain & Glory

Thu Dec 5 / 7 pm
Fri, Dec 6 / 9 pm
Sat, Dec 7 / 5 pm & 7:15 pm
Sun, Dec 8 / 7 pm
Wed, Dec 11 / 7 pm
Thu, Dec 12 / 9 pm
Sat, Dec 14 / 7 pm
Sun, Dec 15 / 2 pm
Wed 11

Tigers Are Not Afraid

Wed & Thu, Dec 4 & 5 / 9:15 pm
Sat, Dec 7 / 3 pm & 9:15 pm
Sun, Dec 8 / 3 pm & 5 pm
Wed, Dec 11 / 9:15 pm

ABOUT US

The Winnipeg Film Group is an artist-run education, production, exhibition and distribution centre committed to promoting the art of cinema.
our location

We’re located in the heart of Winnipeg's historic Exchange District in the Artspace building. We are across the street from Old Market Square at the corner of Arthur Street and Bannatyne - one block west of Main.

The Winnipeg Film Group is located on Treaty 1 Territory and on the ancestral lands of the Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota and Dene Peoples and in the homeland of the Métis Nation. We offer our respect and gratitude to the traditional caretakers of this land.

contact