Loading Events
Now Playing

Beast

Fri & Sat, Aug 10 & 11 / 9 pm
Sun, Aug 12 / 3 pm
Thu, Aug 16 / 9 pm
Fri & Sat, Aug 17 & 18 / 9:15 pm
Directed by Michael Pearce
2017, UK, 107 min

A nominee for the Platform prize at the 2017 Toronto International Film Festival, this debut film by Michael Pearce is a riveting, slow-burning thriller about the limits of love and the darkness within us. Yearning to escape from her stifling home life, Moll (Jessie Buckley), the black sheep of an upper-crust family on the isle of Jersey, impulsively moves in with Pascal (Johnny Flynn), a rugged hunter with a mysterious past. When a local girl goes missing following a string of murders, Moll must decide what to trust: her own instincts, or the mysterious man with whom she has made a home.

Reviews

Four stars. A smartly layered thriller...haunting drama.
-The Guardian
Jessie Buckley gives what can only be called a breakout performance as Moll. She is thrillingly alive, Buckley is riveting. You can't look away.
- Sheila O'Malley, Rogerebert.com  
« Nov 2018 » loading...
M T W T F S S
29
30
31
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
1
2
Wed 14

Shoot Some 16mm – A 16mm Film Workshop

Camera Orientation Day: Sat. Sept 8, 2018 - 10 AM - 2 PM
Shooting Days: Sept 10 - Oct 19, 2018
Processing Day: Sat. Oct 20 & Sun. Oct 21 - 10 AM - 2 PM
Editing: Oct 22 - Dec 5, 2017
Screening Date: TBD
Wed 14

2018 Fall Basic Filmmaking Class **SOLD OUT**

October 9, 2018 - November 25, 2018
Wed 14

Filmworker

Wed & Thu, Nov 7 & 8 / 7 pm
Fri, Nov 9 / 9 pm
Sat, Nov 10 / 5 pm
Sun , Nov 11 / 3 pm
Wed & Thu, Nov 14 & 15 / 7 pm
Thu 15
Thu 15

Madeline’s Madeline

Thu, Nov 8 / 9 pm
Sat, Nov 10 / 9 pm
Sun, Nov 11 / 7 pm
Thu, Nov 15 / 9 pm
Fri, Nov 16 / 7 pm
Sat, Nov 17 / 3 pm
Sun, Nov 18 / 3 pm & 5 pm

ABOUT US

The Winnipeg Film Group is an artist-run education, production, exhibition and distribution centre committed to promoting the art of cinema.
our location

We’re located in the heart of Winnipeg's historic Exchange District in the Artspace building. We are across the street from Old Market Square at the corner of Arthur Street and Bannatyne - one block west of Main.

The Winnipeg Film Group is located on Treaty 1 Territory and on the ancestral lands of the Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota and Dene Peoples and in the homeland of the Métis Nation. We offer our respect and gratitude to the traditional caretakers of this land.

contact