Loading Events
Now Playing

Bands vs. Filmmakers 5

Sat, May 23 / 8 pm
West End Cultural Centre
586 Ellice Ave.

 

 

After last year’s record setting fundraiser in support of Cinematheque, the Winnipeg Film Group’s Cinematheque and WEST END CULTURAL CENTRE join forces again to present BANDS VS FILMMAKERS 5!  Five Winnipeg independent filmmakers have been paired with five musicians/bands to create a film inspired by one of the bands’ songs and collaborate on the piece.

Featuring diverse genres, this fundraising evening in support of the Winnipeg Cinematheque is not one to be missed!

Tickets $20 in advance, $25 at the door

Featured bands/musicians and filmmakers:

Pip Skid / Gwen Trutnau 
Basic Nature / Forrest McGregor 
Rob Crooks / Ryan Simmons
Blunderspublik / Freya Olafson 
Attica Riots / Deco Dawson 

BANDS VS FILMMAKERS 5 is a fantastic evening featuring NEW FILM PREMIERES by five successful independent Winnipeg filmmakers accompanied by the performances of five great Winnipeg bands and musicians.

On May 23, 2015 we will present five of Winnipeg’s finest independent filmmakers who’ll be paired individually with one of five bands/musicians to create a film inspired by one of the bands’ songs. Each filmmaker will create 20 minutes of new work (with no restrictions on their creativity) the films will then be premiered silently as each band plays to the imagery of the films created by the filmmaker.

Featuring diverse genres including rock, hip-hop, electronic and shoe-gaze, this fundraising evening in support of the Winnipeg Cinematheque is not one to be missed.

A silent auction of fabulous prizes will be included, featured in a draw at the end of the evening – everything from prize packages at some of Winnipeg’s finest arts groups to fabulous DVD cult classics and more!

« April 2019 » loading...
M T W T F S S
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
1
2
3
4
5
Sun 21

Optical Printer One on One Workshop Sessions

Appointment Based One on One Session
Sun 21

2019 Spring Basic Filmmaking Class **SOLD OUT**

March 11, 2019 - May 12, 2019 | 7pm - 10pm
Sun 21

The Woman Who Loves Giraffes

Sat, Apr 6 / 3 pm & 5 pm
Sun, Apr 7 / 3 pm
Fri, Apr 12 / 7 pm
Sat & Sun, Apr 13 & 14 / 5 pm & 7 pm
Thu, Apr 18 / 7 pm
Sat, Apr 20 / 3 pm
Sun, Apr 21 / 3 pm & 5 pm
Sun 21

Burning (Beoning)

Wed, Apr 17 / 8:30 pm
Fri, Apr 19 / 7 pm
Sat, Apr 20 / 5 pm
Sun, Apr 21 / 7 pm
Wed & Thu, Apr 24 & 25 / 7 pm
Fri, Apr 26 / 9 pm
Sat, Apr 27 / 2 pm & 9 pm
Sun, Apr 28 / 2 pm
Tue 23

Restoration Tuesdays: Rocco and His Brothers

Tue, Apr 2 / 7 pm
Tue, Apr 9 / 7 pm
Tue, Apr 16 / 7 pm
Tue, Apr 23 / 7 pm
Tue, Apr 30 / 7 pm

ABOUT US

The Winnipeg Film Group is an artist-run education, production, exhibition and distribution centre committed to promoting the art of cinema.
our location

We’re located in the heart of Winnipeg's historic Exchange District in the Artspace building. We are across the street from Old Market Square at the corner of Arthur Street and Bannatyne - one block west of Main.

The Winnipeg Film Group is located on Treaty 1 Territory and on the ancestral lands of the Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota and Dene Peoples and in the homeland of the Métis Nation. We offer our respect and gratitude to the traditional caretakers of this land.

contact