Loading Events

Aurora Gorealis: The Peanut Butter Solution

Sun, Oct 20 / 3 pm
Sat, Oct 26 / 3 pm
Directed by Michael Rubbo
1985, Canada, 93 min, 2K Restoration

In this exceptionally weird and nightmarish 80s kid’s movie – 11-year-old Michael sneaks into a burned-out building and is so spooked by the spirits of a homeless couple who died in the fire that all of his hair falls out. The friendly ghosts feel regretful for scaring the hair out of him and give him the titular ‘peanut-butter solution’ to help regrow his mane. It works too well, causing his hair to grow in abundance which prompts a disgruntled art teacher to kidnap him, along with many other children who he forces to make paintbrushes from Michael’s overflowing hair.

Plays with Fright, Scare and Subscribe! / Directed by Cody Blacksmith, 2018, Canada, 3 min / Vlogger Danny Dangerz investigates a haunted house.

« August 2019 » loading...
M T W T F S S
29
30
31
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
1
Fri 23

Optical Printer One on One Workshop Sessions

Appointment Based One on One Session
Fri 23

Shoot Some 16mm Film

Camera Orientation Day: Sat. June 1, 2019 – 10 AM – 2 PM (WFG Black Lodge Studio)

Shooting Days: June 3 – July 13, 2019

Processing Day: Sat. July 13 & Sun. July 14 – 10 AM – 2 PM (WFG Media Lab and Platform Dark Room)

Optical Printer Class: Sat. July 20 | 10am - 2pm

Editing: July – August

Screening Date: TBD
Fri 23

2019 WFG Summer Teen Filmmaking Camp

Session 2: Mon Aug 12 to Fri Aug 23 (10 AM to 3 PM) | WFG Media Lab & WFG Black Lodge
Thu 22

Gimme Some Truth presents: Shella Record – A Reggae Mystery

Wed, Aug 21 / 7 pm
Thu, Aug 22 / 9:30 pm
Fri, Aug 23 / 9 pm
Sat, Aug 24 / 3 pm & 9 pm
Sun, Aug 25 / 7 pm
Wed, Aug 28 / 9 pm
Sat, Aug 31 / 9 pm
Fri 23

Meeting Gorbachev

Fri, Aug 23 / 7 pm
Sat, Aug 24 / 5 pm & 7 pm
Sun, Aug 25 / 3 pm & 5 pm
Wed, Aug 28 / 7 pm
Thu & Fri, Aug 29 & 30 / 9 pm
Sat, Aug 31 / 5 pm

ABOUT US

The Winnipeg Film Group is an artist-run education, production, exhibition and distribution centre committed to promoting the art of cinema.
our location

We’re located in the heart of Winnipeg's historic Exchange District in the Artspace building. We are across the street from Old Market Square at the corner of Arthur Street and Bannatyne - one block west of Main.

The Winnipeg Film Group is located on Treaty 1 Territory and on the ancestral lands of the Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota and Dene Peoples and in the homeland of the Métis Nation. We offer our respect and gratitude to the traditional caretakers of this land.

contact