Loading Events
Now Playing

Assholes: A Theory

Wed, Nov 13 / 9:30 pm
Thu, Nov 14 / 9:15 pm
Fri, Nov 15 / 7 pm
Sat, Nov 16 / 3 pm
Sun, Nov 17 / 3 pm
Wed, Nov 20 / 7 pm
Directed by John Walker
2019, Canada, 81 min

Former RCMP officer Sherry Lee Benson-Podolchuk (who is interviewed in the film) will participate in a Q&A after the November 15 screening.

Are the assholes taking over? Assholes investigates contemporary asshole culture, moving between Ivy League frat clubs, the bratty princedoms of Silicon Valley and the bear pits of international finance, searching for signs of civility in a rude-’n-nasty universe. Why do assholes thrive in these environments? What is their perverse appeal? How do they keep getting elected? Lively commentary by John Cleese, former police officer Sherry Lee Benson-Podolchuk, and Italian LGBTQ activist Vladimir Luxuria.

John Walker’s films have been widely broadcast and have appeared at the major international film festivals in Toronto, Vancouver, New York, Los Angeles, Berlin, London and Tokyo. He has received over 60 Canadian and international nominations and awards for his writing, directing, producing and cinematography.

Reviews

This is a subject that just keeps on giving, and Walker’s instinct in exploring it is both hilarious and thoughtful.
- Halifax Bloggers.
« December 2019 » loading...
M T W T F S S
25
26
27
28
29
30
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
1
2
3
4
5
Fri 06

Optical Printer One on One Workshop Sessions

Appointment Based One on One Session
Fri 06

Pain & Glory

Thu Dec 5 / 7 pm
Fri, Dec 6 / 9 pm
Sat, Dec 7 / 5 pm & 7:15 pm
Sun, Dec 8 / 7 pm
Wed, Dec 11 / 7 pm
Thu, Dec 12 / 9 pm
Sat, Dec 14 / 7 pm
Sun, Dec 15 / 2 pm
Sat 07
Sat 07

Tigers Are Not Afraid

Wed & Thu, Dec 4 & 5 / 9:15 pm
Sat, Dec 7 / 3 pm & 9:15 pm
Sun, Dec 8 / 3 pm & 5 pm
Wed, Dec 11 / 9:15 pm

ABOUT US

The Winnipeg Film Group is an artist-run education, production, exhibition and distribution centre committed to promoting the art of cinema.
our location

We’re located in the heart of Winnipeg's historic Exchange District in the Artspace building. We are across the street from Old Market Square at the corner of Arthur Street and Bannatyne - one block west of Main.

The Winnipeg Film Group is located on Treaty 1 Territory and on the ancestral lands of the Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota and Dene Peoples and in the homeland of the Métis Nation. We offer our respect and gratitude to the traditional caretakers of this land.

contact