Loading Events
Now Playing

Ask the Sexpert

Wed & Thu, May 2 & 3 / 7 pm
Sun, May 6 / 3 pm
Wed, May 9 / 7 pm
Thu & Fri, May 10 & 11 / 9 pm
Sat & Sun, May 12 & 13 / 3 pm
Wed, May 16 / 7 pm
Directed by Vaishali Sinha
2017, USA, 80 min

Acclaimed at film festivals around the world Ask the Sexpert is a charming and hilarious portrait of 90-year-old Dr. Mahinder Watsa, a widower who writes a sex advice column for a newspaper in India. Highly taboo in India, sex remains unfit for public discussion let alone promotion, making the work of Dr. Watsa all the more impressive. To millions of Mumbai newspaper readers, his sex advice column is as much of an institution as it is a lifeline. With a non-moralistic approach and generous doses of humour, he emboldens men and women to write in and change their lives, if not their sex positions. Controversial and completely charming, the good doctor is in. More information at http://www.askthesexpertmovie.com/

Plays With

“The Talk” True Stories about the Birds & the Bees
Dir. Alain Delannoy, 2016, Canada
, 8:50 min
In this hilarious multiple award-winning film from Winnipeg, several adults share memories of the time when their parents first tried to explain sex to them. The Talk has travelled to festivals around the world.

Reviews

A surprisingly funny, frank & fascinating discussion about sex...Dr. Watsa is a fantastic talent who is incredibly endearing and watchable. He responds to the questions he receives in a direct manner and with frequent dashes of his wry sense of humour. Essential viewing for everyone.
- Natalie Salvo, The Iris
« May 2018 » loading...
M T W T F S S
30
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
1
2
3
Wed 23

Loveless (Nelyubov)

Wed & Thu, May 23 & 24 / 7 pm
Sat, May 26 / 6 pm
Sun, May 27 / 3 pm
Wed, May 30 / 7 pm
Fri, Jun 1 / 7 pm
Wed, Jun 6 / 7 pm
Thu 24

The Young Karl Marx

Fri, May 18 / 9 pm
Sat, May 19 / 3 pm & 9 pm
Sun, May 20 / 3 pm & 7 pm
Thu, May 24 / 9:30 pm
Fri, May 25 / 7 pm
Sat, May 26 / 3 pm
Fri 25

Star Robot: Back to the Markus

Fri, May 25 / 9:15 pm
Sat 26

Boom for Real: The Late Teenage Years of Jean-Michel Basquiat

Thu, May 17 / 9 pm
Sat, May 19 / 5 pm & 7 pm
Sun, May 20 / 5:15 pm
Sat, May 26 / 9 pm
Sun, May 27 / 7 pm
Thu & Fri, May 31 & Jun 1 / 9:15 pm
Mon 28

WIDC SHARING AUTHENTIC VOICES: The Confidence Continuum

Monday, May 28, 2018 | Winnipeg Cinematheque,100 Arthur St, Winnipeg, MB | 5:30 pm to 8:30 pm

ABOUT US

The Winnipeg Film Group is an artist-run education, production, exhibition and distribution centre committed to promoting the art of cinema.
our location
We’re located across the street from Old Market Square, on the 3rd floor of the Artspace building (just upstairs from our Cinematheque) at 100 Arthur Street at Bannatyne - one block west of Main Contact Us
contact