Loading Events
Now Playing

Asako I & II

Sat, Sept 14 / 7:30 pm
Wed, Sept 18 / 7 pm
Thu & Fri, Sept 19 & 20 / 9 pm
Sat, Sept 21 / 5 pm
Wed, Sept 25 / 9 pm
Sat, Sept 28 / 3 pm & 5 pm
Directed by Ryûsuke Hamaguchi
2018, Japan, 119 min
Japanese with English subtitles

A mysterious and intoxicating pop romance, Ryûsuke Hamaguchi’s follow-up to the acclaimed Happy Hour begins with Asako, a young woman who meets and falls in love with a drifter, Baku, who one day vanishes right out of her life. Two years later, working in Tokyo, Asako sees Baku again — or, rather, a young, solid businessman named Ryohei who bears a striking resemblance to her old flame. They begin building a happy life together until traces of Asako’s past start to resurface.

Reviews

Beguiling and mysterious.
— Michael Leader, Sight & Sound
Beautiful. A fable of love lost and found.
— Jordan Cronk, Film Comment
« October 2019 » loading...
M T W T F S S
30
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
1
2
3
Wed 16

Optical Printer One on One Workshop Sessions

Appointment Based One on One Session
Wed 16
Wed 16

Sunset

Wed, Oct 9 / 9 pm
Thu, Oct 10 / 7 pm
Sat, Oct 12 / 2 pm
Sun, Oct 13 / 4 pm & 7 pm
Wed, Oct 16 / 9 pm
Sat, Oct 19 / 7 pm
Thu 17

Aurora Gorealis: My Bloody Valentine

Thu, Oct 17 / 7 pm
Thu, Oct 24 / 7 pm
Thu, Oct 31 / 9 pm
Fri 18

Aurora Gorealis: Happy Birthday to Me

Wed, Oct 9 / 7 pm
Fri, Oct 18 / 9 pm

ABOUT US

The Winnipeg Film Group is an artist-run education, production, exhibition and distribution centre committed to promoting the art of cinema.
our location

We’re located in the heart of Winnipeg's historic Exchange District in the Artspace building. We are across the street from Old Market Square at the corner of Arthur Street and Bannatyne - one block west of Main.

The Winnipeg Film Group is located on Treaty 1 Territory and on the ancestral lands of the Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota and Dene Peoples and in the homeland of the Métis Nation. We offer our respect and gratitude to the traditional caretakers of this land.

contact