Loading Events

Architecture+Film: Soviet Bus Stops

Fri, Dec 2 / 7pm
Dir. Kristoffer Hegnsvad
2022, Denmark/Canada/UK/Sweden/Latvia, 57 min

Canadian photographer Christopher Herwig travels former Soviet Republics from Ukraine to Uzbekistan, Armenia to Far Eastern Siberia, and all points in between, in a decades-long bus stop treasure hunt across more than 50,000 kilometres. Uncovering the stories of the designers who built fascinating architectural marvels during the Soviet regime, Soviet Bus Stops is an ode to the power of individual creativity that would not be suppressed.

Presented in partnership with the Winnipeg Architecture Foundation and sponsored by the Manitoba Association of Architects.

« November 2022 » loading...
M T W T F S S
31
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
1
2
3
4
Wed 30

Trash Cult Tuesdays: Oldboy

Tue, Nov 1 / 7pm
Tue, Nov 8 / 9:15pm
Tue, Nov 15 / 7pm
Tue, Nov 22 / 9:15pm
Tue, Nov 29 / 7pm
Wed 30

Trash Cult Tuesdays: Lady Vengeance

Tue, Nov 1 / 9:15pm
Tue, Nov 8 / 7pm
Tue, Nov 15 / 9:15pm
Tue, Nov 22 / 7pm
Tue, Nov 29 / 9:15pm
Thu 01

Daisies

Thu, Nov 24 / 7pm
Fri, Nov 25 / 9:30pm
Sun, Nov 27 / 7:15pm
Wed, Nov 30 / 7pm
Thu 01

Holy Spider

Fri, Nov 18 / 9:15pm
Sat, Nov 19 / 9pm
Sun, Nov 20 / 5pm
Thu, Nov 24 / 8:45pm
Sat, Nov 26 / 7pm
Sun, Nov 27 / 5pm
Wed, Nov 30 / 8:45pm

ABOUT US

The Winnipeg Film Group is an artist-run education, production, exhibition and distribution centre committed to promoting the art of cinema.
our location

We’re located in the heart of Winnipeg's historic Exchange District in the Artspace building. We are across the street from Old Market Square at the corner of Arthur Street and Bannatyne - one block west of Main.

The Winnipeg Film Group is located on Treaty 1 Territory and on the ancestral lands of the Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota and Dene Peoples and in the homeland of the Métis Nation. We offer our respect and gratitude to the traditional caretakers of this land.

contact