Loading Events
Now Playing

Architecture+Film: Integral Man

Fri, Sept 22 / 7 pm
Directed by Joseph Clement
2016, Canada, 63 min

After Euclid, Toronto’s Jim Stewart is the most published mathematician in the world. Stewart spent a decade and a small fortune building the home of his dreams to reflect his two obsessions: curves and music. The completed home, called Integral House, provides him with both. A stunning architectural gem of subtly curved wood and vast, evocative spaces, the house stands in Toronto’s Rosedale neighbourhood and is considered by many one of the city’s best performance spaces. Stewart took joy in hosting his trademark musical evenings with world-class guests, including the likes of Grammy Award-nominated Canadian soprano Measha Brueggergosman, featured in the film. Landscape designer and artist Joseph Clement’s debut film is an impressive work of art in its own right, with its masterful combination of beautiful soundscapes and gorgeous architectural details. It ultimately delivers a finely crafted portrait of Stewart and his beloved home. – Aisha Jamal, Hot Docs

Architecture + Film, an ongoing series which focuses on architecture and design, is co-presented by the Winnipeg Architecture Foundation, a charitable organization dedicated to advancing the awareness and appreciation of Winnipeg’s built environment through public education.

winnipeg-architecture-foundation-logo

 

Reviews

Integral Man is a story of passions doggedly pursued, from music and mathematics to political activism and philanthropy. It’s an absolute inspiration.
- Derek Jacobs, Cinema Axis
« Nov 2017 » loading...
M T W T F S S
30
31
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
1
2
3
Fri 17

Architecture+Film: Columbus

Fri, Nov 17 / 7 pm
Fri 17

Faces Places (Visages, Villages)

Thu & Fri, Nov 16 & 17 / 9 pm
Sat, Nov 18 / 3 pm
Thu, Nov 23 / 7 pm
Sat & Sun, Nov 25 & 26 / 3 pm
Fri 17

Suspiria: 40th Anniversary 4K Restoration

Sat, Nov 11 / 9 pm
Fri, Nov 17 / 11 pm
Sat, Nov 18 / 9 pm
Fri, Nov 24 / 8:30 pm
Sat, Nov 25 / 11 pm
Sun, Nov 26 / 7 pm
Sat 18

Blue Screen//Green Screen shooting & editing!

Saturday November 18//12pm - 6pm
Sat 18

The Women’s Balcony

Sat & Sun, Nov 18 & 19 / 7 pm
Wed, Nov 22 / 7 pm
Thu, Nov 30 / 9 pm
Sat, Dec 2 / 9 pm
Sun, Dec 3 / 7 pm
Wed & Thu, Dec 6 & 7 / 7 pm
Sat, Dec 9 / 9 pm

ABOUT US

The Winnipeg Film Group is an artist-run education, production, exhibition and distribution centre committed to promoting the art of cinema.
our location
We’re located across the street from Old Market Square, on the 3rd floor of the Artspace building (just upstairs from our Cinematheque) at 100 Arthur Street at Bannatyne - one block west of Main Contact Us
contact