Loading Events
Now Playing

Architecture+Design Film Festival: Estate, a Reverie

Sat, Apr 18 / 7 pm
Directed by Andrea Luka Zimmerman
2015, UK, 83 min

Estate tracks the passing of the Haggerston Estate in Hackney, London and the utopian promise of social housing it  offered, with a spirited celebration of extraordinary everyday humanity. Filmed over seven years, the film reveals and  celebrates the resilience of residents who are profoundly overlooked by media representations and wider social responses.

Plays with:
Some Lots / Dir. Lorne Bailey, 2014, Canada, 23 min / Through clever overlapping of archival photos of downtown Winnipeg  buildings with surface parking lots, Lorne Bailey offers a deadpan commentary on how we have lost many historic landmarks. These buildings include the Grace Church, Empire Hotel, and the McIntyre Block on Main Street.

Sponsored by Green Seed Development 

green-seed-development logo

Generously supported  by the Winnipeg Foundation 

Winnipeg Foundation LOGO

« February 2023 » loading...
M T W T F S S
30
31
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
1
2
3
4
5
Fri 03

When You Finish Saving The World

Sat, Jan 28 / 5pm & 9pm
Sun, Jan 29 / 3pm & 7:30pm
Wed, Feb 1 / 7pm
Thu, Feb 2 / 7pm
Fri 03

Saint Omer

Fri, Jan 20 / 7pm
Sat, Jan 21 / 9:35pm
Sun, Jan 22 / 5pm
Fri, Jan 27 / 9pm
Sat, Jan 28 / 2:30pm
Sun, Jan 29 / 5pm
Wed, Feb 1 / 8:50pm
Thu, Feb 2 / 8:50pm
Sat 04

To Live To Sing

Fri, Feb 3 / 7pm
Sat 04

Adult Adoption

Fri, Feb 3 / 9:45pm
Sat, Feb 4 / 2:45pm
Sun, Feb 5 / 5pm
Wed, Feb 8 / 7pm

ABOUT US

The Winnipeg Film Group is an artist-run education, production, exhibition and distribution centre committed to promoting the art of cinema.
our location

We’re located in the heart of Winnipeg's historic Exchange District in the Artspace building. We are across the street from Old Market Square at the corner of Arthur Street and Bannatyne - one block west of Main.

The Winnipeg Film Group is located on Treaty 1 Territory and on the ancestral lands of the Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota and Dene Peoples and in the homeland of the Métis Nation. We offer our respect and gratitude to the traditional caretakers of this land.

contact