Loading Events
Now Playing

Architecture+Design Film Festival: Estate, a Reverie

Sat, Apr 18 / 7 pm
Directed by Andrea Luka Zimmerman
2015, UK, 83 min

Estate tracks the passing of the Haggerston Estate in Hackney, London and the utopian promise of social housing it  offered, with a spirited celebration of extraordinary everyday humanity. Filmed over seven years, the film reveals and  celebrates the resilience of residents who are profoundly overlooked by media representations and wider social responses.

Plays with:
Some Lots / Dir. Lorne Bailey, 2014, Canada, 23 min / Through clever overlapping of archival photos of downtown Winnipeg  buildings with surface parking lots, Lorne Bailey offers a deadpan commentary on how we have lost many historic landmarks. These buildings include the Grace Church, Empire Hotel, and the McIntyre Block on Main Street.

Sponsored by Green Seed Development 

green-seed-development logo

Generously supported  by the Winnipeg Foundation 

Winnipeg Foundation LOGO

« Aug 2017 » loading...
M T W T F S S
31
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
1
2
3
Sun 20

The Wedding Plan (Laavor et hakir)

Thu, Sept 7 / 9 pm
Fri & Sat, Sept 8 & 9 / 7 pm
Sun, Sept 10 / 3 pm
Thu, Sept 14 / 7 pm
Fri & Sat, Sept 15 & 16 / 9 pm
Sun Sept 17 / 3 pm

Sat 19

Introduction to the Oxberry

Sunday August 20 // 12pm - 4pm & 4pm - 8pm
Sun 20

Risk

Thu & Fri, Aug 17 & 18 / 9 pm
Sat, Aug 19 / 3 pm
Sun Aug 20 / 7 pm
Fri, Aug 25 / 9 pm
Wed 23

Eva Hesse

Wed, Aug 23 / 7 pm
Fri & Sat, Aug 25 & 26 / 7 pm
Sun, Aug 27 / 3 pm
Wed & Thu, Aug 30 & 31 / 7 pm
Thu 24

Lost in Artspace

Thu, Aug 24 / 8 pm - 1 am

ABOUT US

The Winnipeg Film Group is an artist-run education, production, exhibition and distribution centre committed to promoting the art of cinema.
our location
We’re located across the street from Old Market Square, on the 3rd floor of the Artspace building (just upstairs from our Cinematheque) at 100 Arthur Street at Bannatyne - one block west of Main Contact Us
contact