Loading Events
Now Playing

French Film Festival: Neither Heaven Nor Earth (Ni le ciel ni la terre)

Thu, Mar 23 / 7 pm
Directed by Clément Cogitore
2015, France, 100 min
French with English subtitles

As the planned withdrawal of troops approaches, Captain Antarès Bonassieu and his squad are assigned to monitor a remote valley of Wakhan, Afghanistan, on the border of Pakistan in 2014. Despite their determination, control of this supposedly calm sector will gradually crumble as soldiers start to mysteriously disappear one by one.

Plays With: 

Mouvement / Directed by Danielle Sturk, 2015, Canada, 9:11 min / An excerpt from the feature length film A GOOD MADNESS – The Dance of Rachel Browne celebrating the life and work of choreographer and founder of Winnipeg’s Contemporary Dancers, Rachel Browne.

1-logo-afm

 

 

Reviews

On the most fundamental level, Neither Heaven Nor Earth is an impressive stunt, a horror movie masquerading as a film about the horrors of war. But its gravity and intelligence make it something more. It’s not just spooky; it’s genuinely haunting.
- A.O. Scott, New York Times
« Aug 2017 » loading...
M T W T F S S
31
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
1
2
3
Sun 20

The Wedding Plan (Laavor et hakir)

Thu, Sept 7 / 9 pm
Fri & Sat, Sept 8 & 9 / 7 pm
Sun, Sept 10 / 3 pm
Thu, Sept 14 / 7 pm
Fri & Sat, Sept 15 & 16 / 9 pm
Sun Sept 17 / 3 pm

Sat 19

Introduction to the Oxberry

Sunday August 20 // 12pm - 4pm & 4pm - 8pm
Sun 20

Risk

Thu & Fri, Aug 17 & 18 / 9 pm
Sat, Aug 19 / 3 pm
Sun Aug 20 / 7 pm
Fri, Aug 25 / 9 pm
Wed 23

Eva Hesse

Wed, Aug 23 / 7 pm
Fri & Sat, Aug 25 & 26 / 7 pm
Sun, Aug 27 / 3 pm
Wed & Thu, Aug 30 & 31 / 7 pm
Thu 24

Lost in Artspace

Thu, Aug 24 / 8 pm - 1 am

ABOUT US

The Winnipeg Film Group is an artist-run education, production, exhibition and distribution centre committed to promoting the art of cinema.
our location
We’re located across the street from Old Market Square, on the 3rd floor of the Artspace building (just upstairs from our Cinematheque) at 100 Arthur Street at Bannatyne - one block west of Main Contact Us
contact