Loading Events
Now Playing

French Film Festival: Neither Heaven Nor Earth (Ni le ciel ni la terre)

Thu, Mar 23 / 7 pm
Directed by Clément Cogitore
2015, France, 100 min
French with English subtitles

As the planned withdrawal of troops approaches, Captain Antarès Bonassieu and his squad are assigned to monitor a remote valley of Wakhan, Afghanistan, on the border of Pakistan in 2014. Despite their determination, control of this supposedly calm sector will gradually crumble as soldiers start to mysteriously disappear one by one.

Plays With: 

Mouvement / Directed by Danielle Sturk, 2015, Canada, 9:11 min / An excerpt from the feature length film A GOOD MADNESS – The Dance of Rachel Browne celebrating the life and work of choreographer and founder of Winnipeg’s Contemporary Dancers, Rachel Browne.

1-logo-afm

 

 

Reviews

On the most fundamental level, Neither Heaven Nor Earth is an impressive stunt, a horror movie masquerading as a film about the horrors of war. But its gravity and intelligence make it something more. It’s not just spooky; it’s genuinely haunting.
- A.O. Scott, New York Times
« May 2018 » loading...
M T W T F S S
30
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
1
2
3
Wed 23

Loveless (Nelyubov)

Wed & Thu, May 23 & 24 / 7 pm
Sat, May 26 / 6 pm
Sun, May 27 / 3 pm
Wed, May 30 / 7 pm
Fri, Jun 1 / 7 pm
Wed, Jun 6 / 7 pm
Thu 24

The Young Karl Marx

Fri, May 18 / 9 pm
Sat, May 19 / 3 pm & 9 pm
Sun, May 20 / 3 pm & 7 pm
Thu, May 24 / 9:30 pm
Fri, May 25 / 7 pm
Sat, May 26 / 3 pm
Fri 25

Star Robot: Back to the Markus

Fri, May 25 / 9:15 pm
Sat 26

Boom for Real: The Late Teenage Years of Jean-Michel Basquiat

Thu, May 17 / 9 pm
Sat, May 19 / 5 pm & 7 pm
Sun, May 20 / 5:15 pm
Sat, May 26 / 9 pm
Sun, May 27 / 7 pm
Thu & Fri, May 31 & Jun 1 / 9:15 pm
Mon 28

WIDC SHARING AUTHENTIC VOICES: The Confidence Continuum

Monday, May 28, 2018 | Winnipeg Cinematheque,100 Arthur St, Winnipeg, MB | 5:30 pm to 8:30 pm

ABOUT US

The Winnipeg Film Group is an artist-run education, production, exhibition and distribution centre committed to promoting the art of cinema.
our location
We’re located across the street from Old Market Square, on the 3rd floor of the Artspace building (just upstairs from our Cinematheque) at 100 Arthur Street at Bannatyne - one block west of Main Contact Us
contact