Loading Events
Now Playing

Afro Prairie Film Festival: The Skin We’re In: Three Short Docs From Charles Officer and Karen Chapman

Sat, Feb 23 / 3 pm
Filmmaker Karen Chapman in attendance.

A program of three films from two of Canada’s most well-respected Black filmmakers.

The Skin We’re Indirected by Charles Officer, 2017, 44 mins – a wake-up call that brings the Black Lives Matter movement to Canada.

Lessons Injustice
– directed by Karen Chapman, 2017, 9 mins – a father sets out on a car ride with his teenage son in hopes of having the difficult discussion on what it means to be Black in the eyes of the law.

Walk Good
– directed by Karen Chapman, 2016, 12 mins – a stirring portrait of a grieving mother left to reconcile her life after each of her three children are murdered in three separate and unrelated shootings.

« April 2019 » loading...
M T W T F S S
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
1
2
3
4
5
Mon 22

Optical Printer One on One Workshop Sessions

Appointment Based One on One Session
Mon 22

2019 Spring Basic Filmmaking Class **SOLD OUT**

March 11, 2019 - May 12, 2019 | 7pm - 10pm
Sun 21

Burning (Beoning)

Wed, Apr 17 / 8:30 pm
Fri, Apr 19 / 7 pm
Sat, Apr 20 / 5 pm
Sun, Apr 21 / 7 pm
Wed & Thu, Apr 24 & 25 / 7 pm
Fri, Apr 26 / 9 pm
Sat, Apr 27 / 2 pm & 9 pm
Sun, Apr 28 / 2 pm
Tue 23

Restoration Tuesdays: Rocco and His Brothers

Tue, Apr 2 / 7 pm
Tue, Apr 9 / 7 pm
Tue, Apr 16 / 7 pm
Tue, Apr 23 / 7 pm
Tue, Apr 30 / 7 pm
Fri 26

Canada’s Top Ten: Giant Little Ones

Fri, Apr 26 / 7 pm
Sat & Sun, April 27 & 28 / 5 pm & 7 pm

ABOUT US

The Winnipeg Film Group is an artist-run education, production, exhibition and distribution centre committed to promoting the art of cinema.
our location

We’re located in the heart of Winnipeg's historic Exchange District in the Artspace building. We are across the street from Old Market Square at the corner of Arthur Street and Bannatyne - one block west of Main.

The Winnipeg Film Group is located on Treaty 1 Territory and on the ancestral lands of the Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota and Dene Peoples and in the homeland of the Métis Nation. We offer our respect and gratitude to the traditional caretakers of this land.

contact