Loading Events
Now Playing

Afro Prairie Film Festival: Ouvrir La Voix (Speak Up/Make Your Way)

Fri, Feb 23 / 7 pm
Directed by Amandine Gay
2017, France, 122 min

Introduction and Q&A with director Amandine Gay.

Ouvrir La Voix is a film about francophone European Black women from the diaspora. It showcases art performances and compelling storytelling from those who are usually spoken of or spoken for. The film focuses on our common experience related to our minority status in predominantly White ex-colonial countries, while highlighting the great diversity of our Afro-pean communities. Ouvrir La Voix aims at bringing to light our existence at the crossroad of multiple discriminations that go way beyond our “Black women” status. It is a statement from francophone European black women about why we choose to reclaim the our narrative.

Presented in Partnership with the Afro Prairie Film Festival & Black Space Winnipeg.

« December 2019 » loading...
M T W T F S S
25
26
27
28
29
30
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
1
2
3
4
5
Sun 15

Optical Printer One on One Workshop Sessions

Appointment Based One on One Session
Sun 15

Pain & Glory

Thu Dec 5 / 7 pm
Fri, Dec 6 / 9 pm
Sat, Dec 7 / 5 pm & 7:15 pm
Sun, Dec 8 / 7 pm
Wed, Dec 11 / 7 pm
Thu, Dec 12 / 9 pm
Sat, Dec 14 / 7 pm
Sun, Dec 15 / 2 pm
Sun 15

The Two Popes

Fri, Dec 13 / 9:30 pm
Sat, Dec 14 / 2 pm & 4:30 pm
Sun, Dec 15 / 4:30 pm
Wed & Thu, Dec 18 & 19 / 7 pm
Sat, Dec 21 / 7 pm & 9:15 pm
Sun, Dec 22 / 5 pm
Sun 15

Chained for Life

Thu, Dec 12 / 7 pm
Sat, Dec 14 / 9:15 pm
Sun, Dec 15 / 7 pm
Wed & Thu, Dec 18 & 19 / 9:15 pm
Tue 17

Restoration Tuesdays: The Cremator

Tue, Dec 3 / 7 pm
Tue, Dec 10 / 9 pm
Tue, Dec 17 / 7 pm
Tue, Dec 24 / 9 pm

ABOUT US

The Winnipeg Film Group is an artist-run education, production, exhibition and distribution centre committed to promoting the art of cinema.
our location

We’re located in the heart of Winnipeg's historic Exchange District in the Artspace building. We are across the street from Old Market Square at the corner of Arthur Street and Bannatyne - one block west of Main.

The Winnipeg Film Group is located on Treaty 1 Territory and on the ancestral lands of the Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota and Dene Peoples and in the homeland of the Métis Nation. We offer our respect and gratitude to the traditional caretakers of this land.

contact