Loading Events
Now Playing

Afro Prairie Film Festival: Ouvrir La Voix (Speak Up/Make Your Way)

Fri, Feb 23 / 7 pm
Directed by Amandine Gay
2017, France, 122 min

Introduction and Q&A with director Amandine Gay.

Ouvrir La Voix is a film about francophone European Black women from the diaspora. It showcases art performances and compelling storytelling from those who are usually spoken of or spoken for. The film focuses on our common experience related to our minority status in predominantly White ex-colonial countries, while highlighting the great diversity of our Afro-pean communities. Ouvrir La Voix aims at bringing to light our existence at the crossroad of multiple discriminations that go way beyond our “Black women” status. It is a statement from francophone European black women about why we choose to reclaim the our narrative.

Presented in Partnership with the Afro Prairie Film Festival & Black Space Winnipeg.

« Aug 2018 » loading...
M T W T F S S
30
31
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
1
2
Tue 14

Summer Teen Filmmaking Camp

July Session: July 9 - 20, Aug. Session: Aug 6 - 17 / 10 AM - 3 PM
Wed 15

The Oslo Diaries

Fri, Aug 10 / 7 pm
Sat, Aug 11 / 3 pm
Sun, Aug 12 / 7 pm
Wed & Thu, Aug 15 & 16 / 7 pm
Sat, Aug 18 / 3 pm
Sun, Aug 19 / 7 pm
Thu 16

Beast

Fri & Sat, Aug 10 & 11 / 9 pm
Sun, Aug 12 / 3 pm
Thu, Aug 16 / 9 pm
Fri & Sat, Aug 17 & 18 / 9:30 pm
Fri 17

The Third Murder

Fri & Sat, Aug 17 & 18 / 7 pm
Sun, Aug 19 / 3 pm
Wed, Aug 22 / 7 pm
Thu, Aug 23 / 9 pm
Sat 18

Kayak to Klemtu

Sat & Sun, Aug 11 & 12 / 5 pm
Sat & Sun, Aug 18 & 19 / 5:15 pm

ABOUT US

The Winnipeg Film Group is an artist-run education, production, exhibition and distribution centre committed to promoting the art of cinema.
our location
We’re located across the street from Old Market Square, on the 3rd floor of the Artspace building (just upstairs from our Cinematheque) at 100 Arthur Street at Bannatyne - one block west of Main Contact Us
contact