Loading Events
Now Playing

Afro Prairie Film Festival: Cane River

Wed, Feb 19 / 9 pm
Directed by Horace Jenkins
1982, USA, 90 min
4K Restoration

Cane River is set near Natchitoches, in one of the first ‘free communities of color’. Richard Romain plays Peter Metoyer, home to fight for his land, and Tommye Myrick plays the headstrong Maria Mathis, reluctant to succumb to his charms just because he’s the scion of a famous family. Together they confront schisms of class and color that threaten to keep them apart and that still roil America today.

« February 2020 » loading...
M T W T F S S
27
28
29
30
31
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
1
Fri 28

Optical Printer One on One Workshop Sessions

Appointment Based One on One Session
Sat 29

CICFF: Best of the Fests

Fri, Feb 28 / 7 pm
Sat 29
Sat 29

Varda by Agnès

Fri & Sat, Feb 7 & 8 / 7 pm
Sun, Feb 9 / 5 pm
Wed, Feb 12 / 9 pm
Thu, Feb 13 / 7 pm
Sat, Feb 29 / 2:30 pm
Sun, Mar 1 / 7 pm
Sat 29

Restoration Tuesdays: Daguerréotypes

Tue, Feb 4 / 3 pm
Tue, Feb 11 / 7 pm
Tue, Feb 18 / 9 pm
Tue, Feb 25 / 3 pm
Sat, Feb 29 / 5 pm

ABOUT US

The Winnipeg Film Group is an artist-run education, production, exhibition and distribution centre committed to promoting the art of cinema.
our location

We’re located in the heart of Winnipeg's historic Exchange District in the Artspace building. We are across the street from Old Market Square at the corner of Arthur Street and Bannatyne - one block west of Main.

The Winnipeg Film Group is located on Treaty 1 Territory and on the ancestral lands of the Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota and Dene Peoples and in the homeland of the Métis Nation. We offer our respect and gratitude to the traditional caretakers of this land.

contact