Loading Events
Now Playing

Afro Prairie Film Festival: Barbara James with Special Tribute to Gerry Atwell

Sat, Feb 22 / 5 pm
Directed by Winston Washington Moxam
2003, Canada, 80 min
35mm presentation

This year we said goodbye to a leader in our community. Gerry Atwell amplified and supported artists across Winnipeg’s thriving scene. Be it in music, film or theatrical productions, he raised millions of dollars for Winnipeg’s artists and worked closely with another Black creative pioneer in Winnipeg, Winston Washington Moxam for this film, Barbara James.

Barbara is single, hip and pregnant. One day her unborn baby stops moving. She realizes she must come to grips with 30 years of mistakes. Dealing with no money, no career, no home, a judgmental mother, irresponsible father, protective best friend and a ghost, she must decide whether to keep her child.

« February 2020 » loading...
M T W T F S S
27
28
29
30
31
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
1
Fri 28

Optical Printer One on One Workshop Sessions

Appointment Based One on One Session
Sat 29

CICFF: Best of the Fests

Fri, Feb 28 / 7 pm
Sat 29
Sat 29

Varda by Agnès

Fri & Sat, Feb 7 & 8 / 7 pm
Sun, Feb 9 / 5 pm
Wed, Feb 12 / 9 pm
Thu, Feb 13 / 7 pm
Sat, Feb 29 / 2:30 pm
Sun, Mar 1 / 7 pm
Sat 29

Restoration Tuesdays: Daguerréotypes

Tue, Feb 4 / 3 pm
Tue, Feb 11 / 7 pm
Tue, Feb 18 / 9 pm
Tue, Feb 25 / 3 pm
Sat, Feb 29 / 5 pm

ABOUT US

The Winnipeg Film Group is an artist-run education, production, exhibition and distribution centre committed to promoting the art of cinema.
our location

We’re located in the heart of Winnipeg's historic Exchange District in the Artspace building. We are across the street from Old Market Square at the corner of Arthur Street and Bannatyne - one block west of Main.

The Winnipeg Film Group is located on Treaty 1 Territory and on the ancestral lands of the Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota and Dene Peoples and in the homeland of the Métis Nation. We offer our respect and gratitude to the traditional caretakers of this land.

contact