Loading Events
Now Playing

3D The New Dimension: The Bubble 3D

Fri, Feb 17 / 9 pm
Directed by Arch Oboler
1966, USA, 92 min

The Bubble is the “eerie and enjoyable” (Los Angeles Times) science-fiction spine-tingler that shocked audiences and revolutionized the cinematic world of 3D! The eye-popping thrills and chills begin when a plane carrying pregnant Catherine and her husband Mark is forced to land in a mysterious remote town. The townspeople are quite strange, indeed:they repeat certain phrases and movements ceaselessly and stagger through the streets like brain-dead automatons. The Bubble introduced the ground-breaking Space-Vision 3D system, which pioneered a new way of both shooting and exhibiting 3D film. These single-strip 35mm stereoscopic techniques were used in almost all major 3D features for the next thirty years. Now fully restored from the 35mm negatives by the 3D Film Archive.

Generously sponsored by IATSE 856. 

iatse856-d20080228-t121148

Reviews

Bewilderingly odd Poverty Row sci-fi, like an expanded but under-scripted Twilight Zone episode on drugs that still throws some thought-provoking ideas. - Jorge Mourinha
« Nov 2017 » loading...
M T W T F S S
30
31
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
1
2
3
Sun 19

A Ghost Story

Thu & Fri, Nov 9 & 10 / 9 pm
Sat & Sun, Nov 11 & 12 / 7 pm
Sun, Nov 19 / 3 pm
Sun 19

The Women’s Balcony

Sat & Sun, Nov 18 & 19 / 7 pm
Wed, Nov 22 / 7 pm
Thu, Nov 30 / 9 pm
Sat, Dec 2 / 9 pm
Sun, Dec 3 / 7 pm
Wed & Thu, Dec 6 & 7 / 7 pm
Sat, Dec 9 / 9 pm
Mon 20

Expanded Cinema Performance Lab

Monday 6pm - 10pm | Nov. 20, 27, Dec. 4, Jan. 8, 15, 22
Thu 23

Faces Places (Visages, Villages)

Thu & Fri, Nov 16 & 17 / 9 pm
Sat, Nov 18 / 3 pm
Thu, Nov 23 / 7 pm
Sat & Sun, Nov 25 & 26 / 3 pm

ABOUT US

The Winnipeg Film Group is an artist-run education, production, exhibition and distribution centre committed to promoting the art of cinema.
our location
We’re located across the street from Old Market Square, on the 3rd floor of the Artspace building (just upstairs from our Cinematheque) at 100 Arthur Street at Bannatyne - one block west of Main Contact Us
contact