Loading Events
Now Playing

20th Anniversary of send + receive: Sarah Hennies’ Contralto

Sat, Oct 6 / 2 pm
Composed & Directed by Sarah Hennies
2017, USA, 50 min

Followed by a Q&A with the artist.

Contralto exists in between the spaces of experimental music and documentary, featuring a cast of transgender women speaking, singing, and performing vocal exercises accompanied by a score using conventional and “non-musical” approaches to sound-making. When a transgender man begins taking testosterone his vocal cords thicken and
his voice drops into the so-called “masculine range.” However, trans women’s voices are unaffected by increased levels of estrogen in the body. Being a woman with a  “male voice” creates prolonged and intensified dysphoria – a situation where their identities are betrayed by their bodies and brings with it the higher risk of harassment and violence experienced by trans women. “Contralto” – defined in musical terms as “the lowest female singing voice” – uses the sound of trans women’s voices to explore transfeminine identity from the inside and explores the intimate, peculiar, and powerful relationship between gender and sound.


20th Anniversary of send + receive

This year marks the 20th anniversary of send + receive: a festival of sound, Winnipeg’s annual festival dedicated to sound art and experimental music and one of the longest running festivals of its kind in Canada. As part of this special occasion send + receive has curated a series of films relating to sound and the unique artists who have paved new territories and methodologies in their fields. For complete details about send + receive and this year’s events see sendandreceive.org.

Presented by send + receive, a festival of sound v20 in partnership with Groundswell.

« April 2019 » loading...
M T W T F S S
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
1
2
3
4
5
Sun 21

Optical Printer One on One Workshop Sessions

Appointment Based One on One Session
Sun 21

2019 Spring Basic Filmmaking Class **SOLD OUT**

March 11, 2019 - May 12, 2019 | 7pm - 10pm
Sun 21

The Woman Who Loves Giraffes

Sat, Apr 6 / 3 pm & 5 pm
Sun, Apr 7 / 3 pm
Fri, Apr 12 / 7 pm
Sat & Sun, Apr 13 & 14 / 5 pm & 7 pm
Thu, Apr 18 / 7 pm
Sat, Apr 20 / 3 pm
Sun, Apr 21 / 3 pm & 5 pm
Sun 21

Burning (Beoning)

Wed, Apr 17 / 8:30 pm
Fri, Apr 19 / 7 pm
Sat, Apr 20 / 5 pm
Sun, Apr 21 / 7 pm
Wed & Thu, Apr 24 & 25 / 7 pm
Fri, Apr 26 / 9 pm
Sat, Apr 27 / 2 pm & 9 pm
Sun, Apr 28 / 2 pm
Tue 23

Restoration Tuesdays: Rocco and His Brothers

Tue, Apr 2 / 7 pm
Tue, Apr 9 / 7 pm
Tue, Apr 16 / 7 pm
Tue, Apr 23 / 7 pm
Tue, Apr 30 / 7 pm

ABOUT US

The Winnipeg Film Group is an artist-run education, production, exhibition and distribution centre committed to promoting the art of cinema.
our location

We’re located in the heart of Winnipeg's historic Exchange District in the Artspace building. We are across the street from Old Market Square at the corner of Arthur Street and Bannatyne - one block west of Main.

The Winnipeg Film Group is located on Treaty 1 Territory and on the ancestral lands of the Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota and Dene Peoples and in the homeland of the Métis Nation. We offer our respect and gratitude to the traditional caretakers of this land.

contact