Now Playing

Night Moves

Canadian & International Features
Night Moves
Sun, Aug 16 / 8 pm
Sat, Aug 22 / 8:30 pm
Night Moves follows three passionate environmentalists whose homegrown plot to blow up a controversial dam unravels into a journey of doubt, paranoia and unintended consequences. Set against the threatened natural beauty of Oregon, the film tracks quiet organic farmer Josh, …

John Lewis: Good Trouble

New World Documentaries
John Lewis: Good Trouble
Wed, Aug 19 / 7 pm
Thu, Aug 20 / 6 pm
Sun, Aug 23 / 3 pm
Wed & Thu, Aug 26 & 27 / 6 pm
Fri, Aug 28 / 6 pm
Sun, Aug 30 / 7 pm
Tue, Sep 1 / 6:30 pm
Opening Night Wednesday, August 19 / 7 pm includes exclusive Live Skype interview following the film with Director Dawn Porter & Producer Laura Michalchyshyn.  *Immediately following John Lewis: Good Trouble on August 20- September 1 there will be a pre-recorded …

Portrait of a Lady on Fire (WAG Rooftop Retreat)

Canadian & International Features
Special Events
Portrait of a Lady on Fire (WAG Rooftop Retreat)
Thursday, August 20
Doors at 7pm, Film at 8:30pm
On an isolated island in Brittany at the end of the eighteenth century, a female painter is obliged to paint a wedding portrait of a young woman.

Crash (New 4K Restoration)

Canadian & International Features
Crash (New 4K Restoration)
Fri, Aug 21 / 9 pm
Wed & Thu, Aug 26 & 27 / 9 pm
Sat, Aug 29 / 9 pm
Skype Interview following the opening night screening on August 21 with Ron Sanders, editor of Crash (Film editor Ron Sanders and has won several editing awards and has edited most of David Cronenberg’s films including A History of Violence, Scanners, …

The Brothers Quay: Selected Shorts (WAG Rooftop Retreat)

Shorts & Artists Talks
Special Events
The Brothers Quay: Selected Shorts (WAG Rooftop Retreat)
Thursday, September 3
Doors at 7pm, Film at 8:30pm
Since the late 1970's the identical twins Stephen and Timothy Quay have created an eerie series of short films using puppetry and stop motion animation that have spawned an enormous cult following. This mesmerizing program includes some of their remarkable works including their masterful film Street of Crocodiles which Terry Gilliam selected as one of the ten best animated films of all time.
« August 2020 » loading...
M T W T F S S
27
28
29
30
31
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
1
2
3
4
5
6
Sat 15

First Cow

Fri, Aug 14 / 7 pm
Sat, Aug 15 / 8:45 pm
Fri, Aug 21 / 6 pm
Sat, Aug 22 / 3 pm
Sat 15

Meek’s Cutoff

Sat, Aug 15 / 3 pm
Tue, Aug 18 / 7 pm
Sun, Aug 23 / 8:30 pm
Sun 16

River of Grass

Sat, Aug 15 / 6:15 pm
Sun, Aug 23 / 6 pm
Sun 16

Wendy and Lucy

Sun, Aug 16 / 3 pm
Sat, Aug 22 / 6 pm
Tue, Aug 25 / 7 pm
Sun 16

Old Joy

Sun, Aug 16 / 5:30 pm
Thu, Aug 20 / 9 pm

ABOUT US

Cinematheque is an intimate movie theatre devoted to screening the very best in Canadian and world cinema. More than just screening films, we also provide artist talks, panel discussions and special events to feed the minds of cinema fans.
OUR LOCATION

We’re located in the heart of Winnipeg's historic Exchange District in the Artspace building. We are across the street from Old Market Square at the corner of Arthur Street and Bannatyne - one block west of Main.

The Winnipeg Film Group is located on Treaty 1 Territory and on the ancestral lands of the Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota and Dene Peoples and in the homeland of the Métis Nation. We offer our respect and gratitude to the traditional caretakers of this land.

Hours & Ticket Prices
CONTACT