Now Playing

Punjabi Cinema: Toxification

New World Documentaries
Special Events
Punjabi Cinema: Toxification
Mon, Jan 27 / 7 pm
Toxification tells the story of the plight of the Punjabi farmers. The north Indian state of Punjab was said to have produced enough food to feed the entire country during the Green Revolution. However, the overuse of chemicals introduced to enhance production has poisoned the water with carcinogens and created an infertile soil addicted to chemicals. As the land is dependent, so are more and more farmers becoming addicted to drugs, which help them to work longer hours in the fields.

Restoration Tuesdays: Heater

Canadian & International Features
Special Events
Restoration Tuesdays: Heater
Tue, Jan 7 / 9 pm
Tue, Jan 14 / 7 pm
Tue, Jan 21 / 9 pm
Tue, Jan 28 / 7 pm
Ben and The Man are homeless during an icy Winnipeg winter. Their only hope for salvation is an unopened space heater that they share but have no use for. They decide to return their sole possession for a negligible sum of cash. What follows is a day long journey in which they meet a plethora of quirky characters while forming an unlikely bond.

Restoration Tuesdays: Quartet

Canadian & International Features
Special Events
Restoration Tuesdays: Quartet
Tue, Jan 7 / 7 pm
Tue, Jan 14 / 9 pm
Tue, Jan 21 / 7 pm
Tue, Jan 28 / 9 pm
Marya (Isabelle Adjani), a former chorus girl of humble origins, is gleefully living it up in the decadence of 1920s Paris until Stephan (Anthony Higgins), her art dealer husband, is convicted of theft. Broke and alone, she is taken in …

Canada’s Top Ten: Matthias & Maxime

Canadian & International Features
Special Events
Canada’s Top Ten: Matthias & Maxime
Sat, Jan 25 / 9:30 pm
Wed, Jan 29 / 9 pm
Fri, Jan 31 / 9:30 pm
Sat, Feb 1 / 4:30 pm
A comeback for the Quebec wunderkind director Xavier Dolan who made a stir at Cannes with his first few features like I Killed My Mother and Mommy. Maxime (Xavier Dolan) is preparing to move from his hometown of Montreal to Australia, leaving behind his troubled mother (Anne Dorval) and boisterous group of twenty-something friends, including lifelong best pal Matthias (Gabriel D’Almeida Freitas) A few months before his departure, the gang spends the weekend at a lakeside retreat, where Matthias and Maxime agree to take part in an experimental student film, which requires them to kiss. This changes everything.

Canada’s Top Ten: One Day in the Life of Noah Piugattuk

Canadian & International Features
Special Events
Canada’s Top Ten: One Day in the Life of Noah Piugattuk
Thu, Jan 30 / 7 pm
Sat, Feb 1 / 7 pm
For decades, Zacharias Kunuk has been one of the most exciting, dynamic, and innovative filmmakers in Canada, and indeed the world. His film Atanarjuat: The Fast Runner was voted the best Canadian film of all time in a recent TIFF pollHis latest film hinges on a pivotal 1961 encounter on spring sea ice between the title character (Apayata Kotierk) and other community leaders and a government emissary (Kim Bodnia), who has come to ask them to relocate their families.
« January 2020 » loading...
M T W T F S S
30
31
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
1
2
Sun 26

Parasite

Thu, Jan 2 / 7 pm
Fri, Jan 3 / 9 pm
Sat, Jan 4 / 5 pm & 9:15 pm
Sun, Jan 5 / 7 pm
Wed & Thu, Jan 8 & 9 / 9 pm

ADDED SCREENINGS:
Mon, Jan 13 / 7 pm & 9:30 pm
Sun, Jan 19 / 12 pm
Mon, Jan 20 / 7 pm & 9:30 pm
Sat, Jan 25 / 12 pm
Sun, Jan 26 / 12 pm
Sun 26

Cabin Fever: Experimental Films for Kids!

Sun, Jan 26 / 3 pm
Free Admission!
Sun 26

Canada’s Top Ten: Murmur

Thu & Fri, Jan 23 & 24 / 7 pm
Sat, Jan 25 / 2:30 pm
Sun, Jan 26 / 5 pm
Wed, Jan 29 / 7 pm
Mon 27

Canada’s Top Ten: Antigone

Fri, Jan 24 / 9 pm
Sat, Jan 25 / 4:30 pm
Sun, Jan 26 / 7 pm
Mon 27

Uncut Gems

Sun, Jan 19 / 9 pm
Sun, Jan 26 / 9:15 pm
Mon, Jan 27 / 9 pm
Sun, Feb 2 / 12 pm
Mon, Feb 3 / 7 pm & 9:30 pm
Sun, Feb 9 / 12 pm
Mon, Feb 10 / 9 pm

ABOUT US

Cinematheque is an intimate movie theatre devoted to screening the very best in Canadian and world cinema. More than just screening films, we also provide artist talks, panel discussions and special events to feed the minds of cinema fans.
OUR LOCATION

We’re located in the heart of Winnipeg's historic Exchange District in the Artspace building. We are across the street from Old Market Square at the corner of Arthur Street and Bannatyne - one block west of Main.

The Winnipeg Film Group is located on Treaty 1 Territory and on the ancestral lands of the Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota and Dene Peoples and in the homeland of the Métis Nation. We offer our respect and gratitude to the traditional caretakers of this land.

Hours & Ticket Prices
CONTACT