Now Playing

Trash Cult Tuesdays: Combat Shock

Canadian & International Features
Trash Cult Tuesdays: Combat Shock
Tue, July 5 / 8:45pm
Tue, July 26 / 7pm
Tue, Aug 2 / 8:45pm
Writer/director/producer Buddy Giovinazzo made his indelible debut with this nihilistic saga of a Vietnam vet’s desperate pursuit to save his family from the horrors of poverty and urban squalor. Culminating in one of the most brutal climaxes ever committed to …

Official Venue for the Winnipeg Fringe Festival

Special Events
Official Venue for the Winnipeg Fringe Festival
July 7-25, 2022
We will be closed as of July 7-25 as Cinematheque will be an official venue of the 2022 Winnipeg Fringe Festival. Check their website for show listings. We’ll be back on July 26th! Enjoy the summer!

Crimes of the Future

Canadian & International Features
Crimes of the Future
Wed, July 27 / 7pm
Thu, July 28 / 9:15pm
Sat, July 30 / 7pm
Sun, July 31 / 5:20pm
In this early feature from David Cronenberg, a dermatologist named Adrian Tripod searches for his missing mentor, Antoine Rouge, in the wake of a plague caused by cosmetics that has wiped out all sexually mature women. Shot silently and set …

Videodrome

Canadian & International Features
Videodrome
Wed, July 27 / 8:30pm
Fri, July 29 / 7pm
Sat, July 30 / 5pm
Sun, July 31 / 7pm
Wed, Aug 3 / 7pm
As the president of a trashy TV channel, Max Renn (James Woods) is desperate for new programming to attract viewers. When he happens upon “Videodrome,” a TV show dedicated to gratuitous torture and punishment, Max sees a potential hit and …

Arrebato (Rapture)

Canadian & International Features
Arrebato (Rapture)
Thu, July 28 / 7pm
Fri, July 29 / 9pm
Sat, July 30 / 8:30pm
Sun, July 31 / 3pm
Wed, Aug 3 / 9pm
Horror movie director José is adrift in a sea of doubt and drugs. As his belated second feature nears completion, his reclusive bubble is popped by two events: a sudden reappearance from an ex-girlfriend and a package from past acquaintance …
« June 2022 » loading...
M T W T F S S
30
31
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
1
2
3
Fri 01

Pleasure

Thu, June 23 / 7pm
Wed, June 29 / 9:30pm
Thu, June 30 / 7pm
Fri, July 1 / 10:30pm
Sat, July 2 / 4:30pm
Sun, July 3 / 2:30pm
Fri 01

Memoria

Fri, June 17 / 10pm
Sat, June 18 / 2pm & 5pm
Sun, June 19 / 7pm
Wed, June 22 / 9pm
Thu, June 23 / 9pm
Fri, June 24 / 7pm
Sat, June 25 / 5pm & 8pm
Sun, June 26 / 7pm
Wed, June 29 / 7pm
Thu, June 30 / 9pm

ABOUT US

Cinematheque is an intimate movie theatre devoted to screening the very best in Canadian and world cinema. More than just screening films, we also provide artist talks, panel discussions and special events to feed the minds of cinema fans.
OUR LOCATION

We’re located in the heart of Winnipeg's historic Exchange District in the Artspace building. We are across the street from Old Market Square at the corner of Arthur Street and Bannatyne - one block west of Main.

The Winnipeg Film Group is located on Treaty 1 Territory and on the ancestral lands of the Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota and Dene Peoples and in the homeland of the Métis Nation. We offer our respect and gratitude to the traditional caretakers of this land.

Hours & Ticket Prices
CONTACT