Now Playing

World of Wong Kar Wai: Chungking Express

Canadian & International Features
Special Events
World of Wong Kar Wai: Chungking Express
Fri, Sept 17 / 7pm
Wed, Sept 22 / 9:05pm
Thu, Sept 30 / 7pm
Sat, Oct 2 / 4:40pm
The whiplash, double-pronged Chungking Express is one of the defining works of 1990s cinema and the film that made Wong Kar Wai an instant icon. Two heartsick Hong Kong cops (Takeshi Kaneshiro and Tony Leung), both jilted by ex-lovers, cross …

World of Wong Kar Wai: As Tears Go By

Canadian & International Features
Special Events
World of Wong Kar Wai: As Tears Go By
Sat, Sept 18 / 9:30pm
Sun, Sept 19 / 3pm
Thu, Sept 23 / 9:05pm
Wed, Sept 29 / 7pm
Wong Kar Wai’s scintillating debut feature is a kinetic, hypercool crime thriller graced with flashes of the impressionistic, daydream visual style for which he would become renowned. Set amid Hong Kong’s ruthless, neon-lit gangland underworld, this operatic saga of ambition, …

Architecture+Film: Havana, from on High

New World Documentaries
Special Events
Architecture+Film: Havana, from on High
Fri, Sep 24 / 7pm
High above the streets of Central Havana, some of its poorest citizens are forced into rooftop homes by a chronic city-wide housing shortage. With the help of stunning cinematography and inspired soundscapes, Ruiz skillfully interweaves these stories to create a …

New French Extremity: Baise-moi

Canadian & International Features
Special Events
New French Extremity: Baise-moi
Fri, Sept 24 / 9pm
Wed, Oct 6 / 7pm
Tue, Oct 12 / 9:10pm
Thu, Oct 14 / 9:10pm
The shocking French thriller Baise-moi tells the story of two young women who go on a violent spree against a society in which they feel marginalized. One of them, Manu, is brutally raped by a group of savage thugs. The …

New French Extremity: Trouble Every Day

Canadian & International Features
Special Events
New French Extremity: Trouble Every Day
Sat, Sept 25 / 5:05pm
Tue, Sept 28 / 7pm
Thu, Sept 30 / 9:15pm
Tue, Oct 5 / 7pm
Scientist Shane Brown (Vincent Gallo) neglects his new bride (Tricia Vessey), instead spending their honeymoon searching for an old colleague who disappeared after a research paper he had written was discredited by the medical community. It turns out that Dr. …
« September 2021 » loading...
M T W T F S S
30
31
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
1
2
3
Sun 19

World of Wong Kar Wai: The Hand (Director’s Cut)

Sat, Sept 11 / 5:10pm
Sat, Sept 18 / 5:30pm
Sun, Sept 19 / 5:15pm
Mon 20

World of Wong Kar Wai: In the Mood for Love

Fri, Sept 10 / 7pm
Sat, Sept 11 / 9:20pm
Wed, Sept 15 / 7pm
Sun, Sept 19 / 6:45pm
Sun, Oct 3 / 7:15pm
Wed 22

World of Wong Kar Wai: 2046

Fri, Sept 17 / 9:15pm
Sat, Sept 18 / 2:45pm
Tue, Sept 21 / 7pm
Sun, Sept 26 / 7pm
Wed 22

World of Wong Kar Wai: Days of Being Wild

Tue, Sept 21 / 9:40pm
Tue, Sept 28 / 9:15pm
Wed, Sept 29 / 9:15pm
Sun, Oct 3 / 5:10pm
Thu 23

The Rainbow Boys (New Restoration)

Wed, Sept 22 / 7pm
Thu, Sept 23 / 7pm
Sat, Sept 25 / 2:30pm
Sun, Sept 26 / 3pm

ABOUT US

Cinematheque is an intimate movie theatre devoted to screening the very best in Canadian and world cinema. More than just screening films, we also provide artist talks, panel discussions and special events to feed the minds of cinema fans.
OUR LOCATION

We’re located in the heart of Winnipeg's historic Exchange District in the Artspace building. We are across the street from Old Market Square at the corner of Arthur Street and Bannatyne - one block west of Main.

The Winnipeg Film Group is located on Treaty 1 Territory and on the ancestral lands of the Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota and Dene Peoples and in the homeland of the Métis Nation. We offer our respect and gratitude to the traditional caretakers of this land.

Hours & Ticket Prices
CONTACT