Now Playing

The Films of Roy Andersson: Best of GFF: About Endlessness

Canadian & International Features
Special Events
The Films of Roy Andersson: Best of GFF: About Endlessness
Fri, Jan 14 / 7pm
Sun, Jan 16 / 3:30pm
Sun, Jan 23 / 2:30pm
Tue, Jan 25 / 9:45pm
The “Living Trilogy” films were mainly built around one or two central stories. About Endlessness, Andersson’s most recent work (rumoured to be his last), also has a single through line: a priest who has lost his faith. But the film …

Vivi’s Vision w/ Night Mayor

Canadian & International Features
Enhanced Programming
Shorts & Artists Talks
Special Events
Vivi’s Vision w/ Night Mayor
Sun, Jan 23 / 7:30pm
Vivi embarks on writing and producing her first play for the Winnipeg Fringe Festival. It’s a lot of work for a play she won’t get to see as Vivi lost all her sight in her early twenties.  Based on the …

Chameleon Street (4K Restoration)

Canadian & International Features
Chameleon Street (4K Restoration)
Fri, Jan 28 / 7pm
Sat, Jan 29 / 4:45pm
Sun, Jan 30 / 8pm
Tue, Feb 1 / 9:15pm
Thu, Feb 3 / 9:15pm
Sat, Feb 5 / 2pm
Wed, Feb 9 / 7pm
Winner of the Grand Jury Prize at the 1990 Sundance Film Festival—yet criminally underseen for over three decades—Chameleon Street recounts the improbable but true story of Michigan con man Douglas Street, the titular “chameleon” who successfully impersonated his way up …

The Films of Roy Andersson: A Swedish Love Story

Canadian & International Features
Special Events
The Films of Roy Andersson: A Swedish Love Story
Fri, Jan 14 / 9pm
Sat, Jan 29 / 2pm
Few films have captured the highs and lows of adolescence like Andersson’s first feature. In a small town, teenagers Pår and Annika fall in love. The courtship is awkward and magically brief. It’s the relationship that’s the tough part, as …

The Films of Roy Andersson: Songs from the Second Floor

Canadian & International Features
Special Events
The Films of Roy Andersson: Songs from the Second Floor
Sat, Jan 15 / 6:40pm
Sun, Jan 30 / 5:45pm
Andersson’s fierce, triumphant return to narrative feature filmmaking, and winner of a Special Jury Prize at Cannes in 2000, Songs from the Second Floor was his first full-length project using techniques he’d honed in several hundred TV commercials and shorts …
« January 2022 » loading...
M T W T F S S
27
28
29
30
31
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
1
2
3
4
5
6
Fri 21

Bootlegger

Fri, Jan 7 / 7pm
Sat, Jan 8 / 2:30pm & 5:15pm
Sun, Jan 9 / 5:40pm
Tue, Jan 11 / 9:30pm
Thu, Jan 13 / 9:30pm
Sat, Jan 15 / 9pm
Sun, Jan 16 / 5:30pm
Wed, Jan 19 / 7pm
Thu, Jan 20 / 7pm
Fri 21

The Films of Roy Andersson: Giliap

Tue, Jan 18 / 9:10pm
Thu, Jan 20 / 9pm
Sat 22

The Films of Roy Andersson: A Pigeon Sat on a Branch Reflecting on Existence

Fri, Jan 21 / 7pm
Sat, Jan 22 / 9:10pm
Wed, Jan 26 / 7pm
Thu, Jan 27 / 9:45pm
Sat 22

Benedetta

Fri, Jan 21 / 9:20pm
Sat, Jan 22 / 3:30pm
Sun, Jan 23 / 4:30pm
Tue, Jan 25 / 7pm
Wed, Jan 26 / 9:20pm
Thu, Jan 27 / 7pm
Fri, Jan 28 / 9:30pm
Sat, Jan 29 / 9:30pm
Wed, Feb 2 / 7pm
Sun 23

Bikini Drive-In: Phantasm

Sat, Jan 22 / 6:30pm

ABOUT US

Cinematheque is an intimate movie theatre devoted to screening the very best in Canadian and world cinema. More than just screening films, we also provide artist talks, panel discussions and special events to feed the minds of cinema fans.
OUR LOCATION

We’re located in the heart of Winnipeg's historic Exchange District in the Artspace building. We are across the street from Old Market Square at the corner of Arthur Street and Bannatyne - one block west of Main.

The Winnipeg Film Group is located on Treaty 1 Territory and on the ancestral lands of the Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota and Dene Peoples and in the homeland of the Métis Nation. We offer our respect and gratitude to the traditional caretakers of this land.

Hours & Ticket Prices
CONTACT