Now Playing

Ask the Sexpert

New World Documentaries
Ask the Sexpert
Wed & Thu, May 2 & 3 / 7 pm
Sun, May 6 / 3 pm
Wed, May 9 / 7 pm
Thu & Fri, May 10 & 11 / 9 pm
Sat & Sun, May 12 & 13 / 3 pm
Wed, May 16 / 7 pm
Acclaimed at film festivals around the world Ask the Sexpert is a charming and hilarious portrait of 90-year-old Dr. Mahinder Watsa, a widower who writes a sex advice column for a newspaper in India. A surprisingly funny, frank & fascinating discussion about sex.

Jane

New World Documentaries
Jane
Thu, May 3 / 9 pm
Sun, May 6 / 5 pm & 7 pm
Thu, May 10 / 7 pm
Sat, May 12 / 5 pm
Set to beautiful original score by Philip Glass, this is a wondrous and moving account of a remarkable life that puts us right there with Jane Goodall sharing directly in her discoveries. Its epic elements of adventure, romance, spiritual connection and lifelong dedication to a cause, possess a sweep equal to any narrative feature.

African Movie Fest: Ben & Ara (Ben et Ara)

Canadian & International Features
Special Events
African Movie Fest: Ben & Ara (Ben et Ara)
Fri, May 4 / 7 pm
Ben Johnson is a struggling PhD candidate in the school of philosophy. He takes a break and visits a local art gallery opening where he runs into a fellow PhD candidate named Ara....What follows is an unlikely romance between two people from different worlds.

African Movie Fest: Congo! The Silence of the Forgotten Crimes (Congo! Les Silence des crimes oubliés)

New World Documentaries
Special Events
African Movie Fest: Congo! The Silence of the Forgotten Crimes (Congo! Les Silence des crimes oubliés)
Sat, May 5 / 11 am
Under the watch and negligent eye of the international community, the people of Eastern Congo continue to suffer all kinds of atrocities, crimes, massacres, rapes, looting and other humiliations. What have they done to deserve all these wars of aggression?

Sheila Petty: The past, present and future of African Cinema: Implications for Canada

Shorts & Artists Talks
Special Events
Sheila Petty: The past, present and future of African Cinema: Implications for Canada
Sat, May 5 / 1 pm
Sheila Petty, professor of media studies at the University of Regina will speak about the past, present and future of African Cinema: Implications for Canada. Sheila has written extensively on issues of cultural representation, identity and nation in African and African diasporic screen media, and has curated film, television and digital media exhibitions for galleries across Canada.
« Apr 2018 » loading...
M T W T F S S
26
27
28
29
30
31
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
1
2
3
4
5
6
Wed 25

Happy End

Wed, Apr 25 / 7 pm
Fri, Apr 27 / 9 pm
Sat, Apr 28 / 5 pm & 7 pm
Sun, Apr 29 / 3 pm & 7 pm
Thu 26
Thu 26

Birdland

Thu, Apr 26 / 9:30 pm
Sat, Apr 28 / 9 pm
Sun, Apr 29 / 5 pm
Sat 28

Aida’s Secrets

Thu - Sat, Mar 29 - 31 / 7 pm
Sun, Apr 1 / 3 pm & 7 pm
Wed - Fri, Apr 4 - 6 / 7 pm
Sat & Sun, Apr 7 & 8 / 3 pm
Sat, Apr 14 / 3 pm
Sat, Apr 28 / 3 pm

ABOUT US

Cinematheque is an intimate movie theatre devoted to screening the very best in Canadian and world cinema. More than just screening films, we also provide artist talks, panel discussions and special events to feed the minds of cinema fans.
OUR LOCATION
Cinematheque is located in the heart of Winnipeg's historic Exchange District, across the street from Old Market Square. We're on the main floor of the Artspace building at 100 Arthur Street at Bannatyne - one block west of Main. Hours & Ticket Prices
CONTACT