• Screening the very best in
    Canadian and World Cinema

UPCOMING
  • Aki Kaurismäki's The Other Side of Hope
    Aki Kaurismäki's The Other Side of Hope
    Thu & Fri, Dec 7 & 8 / 9 pm
    Sat, Dec 9 / 3 pm
    Sun, Dec 10 / 7 pm
    Wed & Thu, Dec 13 & 14 / 7 pm
    Sat & Sun , Dec 16 & 17 / 3 pm
    Finland’s master of deadpan comedy, Aki Kaurismäki (Leningrad Cowboys Go America, The Match Factory Girl, Le Havre), returns with the story of an unlikely friendship between a Syrian asylum seeker and an elderly Finnish restaurant owner.
  • 78/52
    78/52
    Thu, Dec 14 / 9 pm
    Fri - Sun, Dec 15 - 17 / 7 pm
    Thu & Fri, Dec 21 & 22 / 9 pm
    There may be no more iconic sequence in the history of cinema than the shower scene in Alfred Hitchcock's 1960 masterpiece Psycho. In 78/52, Hitchcock historians, horror aficionados, filmmakers, critics and actors-from Peter Bogdanovich and Guillermo del Toro to Elijah Wood-gleefully pick apart this legendary movie moment, uncovering its enduring power and influence.
  • The Little Hours
    The Little Hours
    Wed – Fri, Dec 20 – 22 / 7 pm
    Thu & Fri, Dec 28 & 29 / 9 pm
    Sat, Dec 30 / 9 pm
    In The Little Hours, medieval nuns Alessandra (Alison Brie), Fernanda (Aubrey Plaza), and Ginevra (Kate Micucci) lead a simple life in their convent but before long the repressed nunnery erupts in a whirlwind of pansexual horniness, substance abuse, and wicked revelry.
CINEMATHEQUE