New World Documentaries

CatVideoFest

New World Documentaries
CatVideoFest
Thu & Fri, May 23 & 24 / 7 pm
Sat, May 25 / 3 pm & 7:15 pm
Sun, May 26 / 3 pm & 7 pm
Wed, May 29 / 7 pm
Thu, May 30 / 9 pm
Sat & Sun, June 1 & 2 / 3 pm & 5 pm
CatVideoFest is a compilation of the latest and greatest cat videos culled from countless hours of unique submissions and sourced animations, music videos, and, of course, classic internet powerhouses. CaVideoFest is a joyous communal experience, only available in theaters, and also helps raises money for cats. A percentage of the box office will be donated to Winnipeg cat charity Darcys Arc.

Restoration Tuesdays: Amazing Grace

New World Documentaries
Special Events
Restoration Tuesdays: Amazing Grace
Tue, June 4 / 7 pm
Tue, June 11 / 9 pm
Tue, June 18 / 7 pm
Tue, June 25 / 9 pm
In 1972, Sydney Pollack was hired to film the making of Aretha Franklin’s live album Amazing Grace, as she performed with a full gospel choir over two consecutive nights at the New Temple Missionary Baptist Church in Los Angeles. Unavailable for 50 years due to contract issues, Alan Elliot has now put all that electrifying footage together in this essential document that showcases the legend at her absolute peak.

Searching for Ingmar Bergman

New World Documentaries
Searching for Ingmar Bergman
Wed & Thu, June 5 & 6 / 9 pm
Sat, June 8 / 5 pm & 9 pm
Sun, June 9 / 5 pm & 7 pm
On the 100th anniversary of his birth, internationally renowned director Margarethe von Trotta created a lovely personal film about Ingmar Bergman’s life and work with a circle of his closest collaborators and fellow filmmakers including Liv Ullmann, Olivier Assayas, Ruben Östlund, Mia Hansen-Løve, as well as Ingmar Bergman Jr.

Almost, Almost Famous

New World Documentaries
Almost, Almost Famous
Fri, June 7 / 9 pm
Sat, June 8 / 3 pm & 7 pm
Sun, June 9 / 3 pm
On a road trip through an alternate universe, where Elvis Presley and Roy Orbison never died, this film explores the lives of three of the world’s top tribute artists, the cost of borrowed fame and the risk of getting ‘lost in the act'.

Maison du bonheur

New World Documentaries
Maison du bonheur
Wed & Thu, June 12 & 13 / 7 pm
Fri, June 14 / 9 pm
Sat, June 15 / 3 pm & 9 pm
Sun, June 16 / 5 pm & 7 pm
Juliane Sellam is a 77-year-old Parisian astrologer who has lived in the same pre-war apartment in Montmartre for half a century. In this vibrant documentary, which resembles the films of Agnes Varda, Toronto director Sofia Bohdanowicz focuses on Sellam’s daily life over 30 beautifully shot segments, narrated by both Sellam and Bohdanowicz.
« May 2019 » loading...
M T W T F S S
29
30
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
1
2
Mon 27
Tue 28

Restoration Tuesdays: The Juniper Tree (New 4K Restoration)

Tue, May 14 / 9:15 pm
Tue, May 21 / 7 pm
Tue, May 28 / 9:15 pm
Wed 29

CatVideoFest

Thu & Fri, May 23 & 24 / 7 pm
Sat, May 25 / 3 pm & 7:15 pm
Sun, May 26 / 3 pm & 7 pm
Wed, May 29 / 7 pm
Thu, May 30 / 9 pm
Sat & Sun, June 1 & 2 / 3 pm & 5 pm
Wed 29

Ghost Town Anthology (Répertoire des ville disparues)

Thu - Sat, May 23 - 25 / 9 pm
Sun, May 26 / 5 pm
Wed, May 29 / 9 pm
Sun, June 2 / 7 pm
Thu 30

ABOUT US

The Winnipeg Film Group is an artist-run education, production, exhibition and distribution centre committed to promoting the art of cinema.
our location

We’re located in the heart of Winnipeg's historic Exchange District in the Artspace building. We are across the street from Old Market Square at the corner of Arthur Street and Bannatyne - one block west of Main.

The Winnipeg Film Group is located on Treaty 1 Territory and on the ancestral lands of the Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota and Dene Peoples and in the homeland of the Métis Nation. We offer our respect and gratitude to the traditional caretakers of this land.

contact